Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Armando from San Francisco, CA

Great location, staff, amenities; noisy

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Beautiful old building that's lovingly restored; amazing location
Cons: Noisy neighborhood; insulated windows might help
Location: Quito old town - UNESCO world heritage site and you're within walking distance of 90% of the "top ten" Quito sights
The only obstacle to 5 star overall is that the Quito old city can be noisy at night, even with earplugs. Obviously there's nothing the hotel can do about that (though installing insulated windows might help; that's what they do in Germany) and they have a flyer in guest rooms warning you about this. Our room faced the street; perhaps if you request a back room it would be quieter. Overall very nice, we'd stay there again (even though by Quito standards it's quite expensive).
Comment from
Jan 10, 2014
Thanks for giving us 4 stars on the satisfaction survey. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and its service. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. We hope you enjoyed your journey through Quito and Ecuador, and that you come back soon, Sincerely, Francisco Baca General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by the Nissim's from seattle

Perfect with kids

Posted Feb 14, 2014
The rooms are big, the location is perfect! The staff is super - friendly. We were so happy to stay here as our first stop at South America.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lyn and Tony from Alberta, Canada

A lovely hotel.

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Pros: A charming historic building with modern amenities.
Location: Right in the centre of the Old Town, just two blocks from the central plaza
The staff are very friendly and helpful. An excellent location in the Old Town. A great restaurant with very good service. We stayed there on three separate occasions, and were upgraded to a suite on two occasions. However the basic rooms were just as nice and roomy as the suites. In fact the suites were on two levels and, given the altitude of Quito, we found it easier not to have to go up a flight of stairs in order to get to the bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!!

Posted Jan 25, 2014
The hotel staff was all so friendly and we loved our stay. We requested a room with windows and got a beautiful room! Definitely request a room with windows. The food is delicious and the staff so friendly. Great hotel!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Katie from Arizona

Liked the hotel and staff.

Posted Jan 22, 2014
Pros: It is located near of the Quito historic district and if we had had more time we would have been able to walk around it. The hotel was so authentic.
Cons: Elevators, but that might take away from its charm.
Location: Beautiful old Spanish buildings, churches, etc.
The staff was helpful in everything we wanted. We are only sorry that we had just one night to stay when we arrived in Ecuador. They gave us a room with a beautiful view, but we didn't have time to enjoy it. The thermostat didn't work and we got very cold. Also the water quit working just before we were going to bed. We were on the very top floor without an elevator. We asked if they could put us on the 2nd floor the next week when we were coming back and the were very agreeable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by David Krendel from Atlanta, Georgia

Patio Andaluz

Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Perfect hotel. An oasis of calm and beauty in the heart of old town Quito, steps from the main square. The city itself is overcrowded and can be dangerous after dark. Everything at the hotel was absolutely first rate. They even had a bank of phone chargers which was great for me as I had lost mine and my phone was almost dead.
Comment from
Jan 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment and giving us 5 stars on the satisfaction survey. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and its service. We hope you enjoyed your journey through Quito and Ecuador, and that you come back soon, Sincerely, Francisco Baca General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Polina from Boston

nice hotel in excellent location

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: Very beautiful, with a lot of common area that can be used by guests, including library. Coffee, tea, drinking water is available 24 hours a day.
Cons: Quality of air in the room. the only source of fresh air is to keep open the door to the courtyard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Colonial Hotel, Great Location

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: Location, beauty, comfort
Cons: Food prices a bit high
Location: Great Location, near several buildings of interest, near Plaza Grande for people watching and catching site seeing bus.
This hotel is in the historic district of Quito very close to Plaza Grande, a great location for walking to historic and beautiful buildings and catching the double decker sight seeing bus. After a long day and working our way through the ever present traffic of Quito check in was quick and easy. Our room was comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. It would have been nice to have a chair in the room. We had a drink and some delicious soup in the lovely bar before going to sleep. The beds are comfortable and we slept easily. There is mention of noise from pipes and you do hear some of that though for us it was not a problem. Exceptionally light sleepers may have a problem. The staff is excellent and all we encountered spoke English and were a great help to us in getting a car from Quito to Cuenca. The dinning room is stunning. I felt the prices were a bit high. We only had breakfast and soup, both were good. Check out was also quick and easy. We would stay there again and would recommend the hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Center of Old Town

Posted Dec 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Beautiful hotel in a great location. Friendly service and spacious rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Scott from Florida

Very nice hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed the hotel immensely. Nice room, friendly staff, interesting location. Only the restaurant food left anything to be desired (it was average-to-poor in our one meal there). But being Quito, $5 will get you a cab to anywhere so stay here and eat elsewhere and you won't be disappointed.