Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dover, Delaware

Small, quaint, very friendly and helpful staff.

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff made this hotel feel like home. One morning we had to leave early for a day trip. Ignacio had breakfast prepared early for us!
Cons: Any changes would necessitate a price increase so don't change anything.
Location: Great location--two blocks from trole-bus, which is a fantastic way to travel in Quito. Very near Plaza Carolina and El Jardin Mall.
When we first saw this hotel we thought we might have made a mistake. It's a little old and not what we were used to. However, the amazing attitude of the staff soon made up for any other issues. Breakfast was always good though limited in variety. The whole place was immaculately clean and always smelled good. There was always coffee, tea, and fresh fruit available in the dining room. There is no safe in the room but there are lock boxes in the lobby. The front door is always locked so everything is very secure. There is no climate control which means no heat in the morning. I didn't mind but some did. The lack of elevators did not affect us at all--not a problem. We would not have used them if they were there. The beds are a bit hard. Very quiet neighborhood. We didn't hear any noise at night. The walls were thin and you could hear your neighbor but there was no noise when we wanted to sleep. Some rooms had refrigerators; others did not. Very comfortable place to stay. Easy walk to trole-bus, malls, parks, and even Plaza Foch. Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rocky from California

Great staff, very helpful with a smile!

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: Service, breakfast and VERY helpful staff!
Location: Bit far from the center, but then it was quiet.
We needed a lot of information on this leg of the trip and couldn't have asked for better service! The rooms were spacious with plenty of hot water. A little far from the center, but getting to the center is easy. Reasonably priced and I felt safe.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jose from Lima

Good choice for the money, but...

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Cons: Help to get the luggage up. Change the beds. Cheaper rooms at the last floor.
Location: This Hostel is located near the “Trolebus” and near La Carolina park and pink distrit “La Mariscal” by taxi. But be carefull at the trolebus.
This Hostel is located near the “Trolebus” and near La Carolina park and pink distrit “La Mariscal” by taxi. Is a good choice for the money (near US$ 60), but be aware of: (1) it has no elevator, and nobody will help you to lift your baggage to your room (consider you are arriving at almost 3.000 meters above sea level); (2) the beds are very hard, (3) there is a huge difference between rooms (I reserved a queen bed and they gave me a doble room with two beds, so when they change us to another room, this one was A LOT nicer than the first one). I was robbed at the Trolebus (a bus that crosses the city through a speed channel), and no one in the Hostel told me that it was dangerous when I asked if a could go downtown this way). So spend a little more and take a taxi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Delightful

Posted Apr 7, 2014
beautiful accommodation and very reasonable price with good access to a large shopping centre
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Doris from Washington DC

Excellent value with what you paid for

Posted Apr 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
A hotel with home feeling. Located in the quiet and safe residential area. You can walk or take a short cab to the tourist area. Great customer service from the receptionist. He helped to to take the luggage up as there is no elevator. He also patiently answered lots of my question. Room is clean with colonial design. There is a cozy living room on the floor I stay, which is lovely. Wifi and breakfast is included. if you have a low budget, this would be a nice hotel for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is in a good safe location and the staff is very helpful and polite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Chuck from USA

Posted Mar 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean, well situated and reasonable. Staff really tried to help!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris

Nice family run property

Posted Mar 2, 2014
great service, very helpful. It's like a little museum hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from California

Great experience

Posted Feb 21, 2014
As with most of the reviews, this place was great. My flight landed late after midnight so I opted for their airport pick up for $50. This is pricey considering you can get a taxi from the airport for 25-30 but having never been to Ecuador I played it safe especially arriving so late. The shuttle van was their with a sign with my name as soon as I entered baggage claim. Relief. The hotel is 45 mins from the airport. Checking in was a breeze. The room was exactly what I asked for. The decor in the hotel is unique and gives it a nice equadorian feel which was my favorite thing. The door didn't shut all the way but still locked. Bathroom was up a couple steps in a loft. Great view of mtns. Shower was fickle at times, not a huge problem. Street was quiet at night but noisy in the morning. Car alarms, building alarms, and diesel trucks but that is ecuador so get over it. Breakfast was nice and lite, offered filtered water. The hotel is centrally located. Easy to get where you want to go in the city. Overall, I felt safe amd comfortable and that is all that matters. Would stay again. Overall