Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent and affordable option in Quito

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Room size and views.
Cons: Make sure that the address is correct and publish directions/maps. We had to call the hotel twice so that the driver could get directions.
Location: The hotel is not in the "middle of the action", which might be a good thing in Quito. There are a few restaurants/pubs nearby.
We - a family of three - spent only a night at the Stubel, but the experience was more than pleasant. We booked a suite, which turned out to be a spacious two-room apartment with kitchenette, full size refrigerator, and even an in-room washer and dryer. The room had a very ample balcony with great views on North Quito - in a clear day you can see some of the northern volcanoes from the balcony. Breakfast was included - essential, but good - and served in a nice room with some of the same great views. The gym is relatively basic, but in good working conditions. The hotel is also located in a relatively safe residential area of Quito, albeit a bit tucked away (our taxi driver had hard time finding how to get to the hotel - and, by the way, don't trust your cell phone maps directions - they won't take you to the Stubel, I suspect that the address that is published isn't correct).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lakeland, Florida

Nice, comfortable, clean, and modern.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: The view and the comfortable room
Cons: good hotel and not too expensive
Location: You need a taxi to go into town ... $3 to the newer section of Quito
Location was just a short taxi ride from Quito's newer side of the city. We enjoyed the view and the suite was more than adequate for our needs. There was a full kitchen, but we didn't use it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Lovely room, very helpful staff.
Location: Not too near anything and taxi drivers had a hard time finding it.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel was beautiful and the restaurant was good. It wasn't in the best location- not very near tourist spots like Mariscal Sucre or historic Quito, but we really enjoyed the accommodations. I would return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bozeman, MT

Very irresponsible hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TravelingMama from TX

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful area of Quito

Posted May 23, 2014
I was just there for an overnight stay, but what a lovely stay it was! The view is gorgeous, the staff is friendly and helpful. There was plenty to do close by but I enjoyed just sitting, reading and looking out my hotel window as well as exploring the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly recommend it!

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: Room with an amazing view, Jacuzzi and breakfast!
Cons: Receptionist who are more willing to work with you instead of having to argue them down to change you to the room that one paid for.
Location: Guapolo is down below, highly recommend taking a stroll down. We walked down and enjoyed a nice stroll down the hike up is a bit strenuous but doable.
Loved the hotel location. Nice hotel. I did have a minor inconvenience with rooms. I paid more for a room with a balcony as the view from this hotel is AMAZING but they gave me a room with out a balcony. Once I spoke to the receptionist she was hesitant but I didn't budge and after 15 min of going back and forth she switched us to the room that I had paid for. Breakfast was a nice big buffet! Our room had a Jacuzzi! Overall an great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view and location.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pleasant hotel near with great view, near to great restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Marylyn from Cuenca

Comfortable Hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The management was very helpful and gracious. The management at the desk was able to resolve any issues and spoke very good English. They served a American style breakfast with bacon and eggs along with different fruits, breads and drinks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jen from Wisconsin

Our first trip to Quito

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: Loved the clean rooms, fitness room, staff, willingness to accomodate our luggage before check-in and the complimentary breakfast buffet.
Cons: For me, it would be a wider dinner menu.
Location: Red Bus tour around Quito tours 12 key tourist spots in Quito and lets you get off and explore and then hop back on for more. no better way to see it
We flew into Quito very early in the morning (2:30am) and found a hotel that was about 15 minutes from the airport. Stubel was about an hour away. We got a taxi from our airport hotel to Stubel in the morning but couldn't check in until later in the afternoon. We asked if we could leave our bags there as we explored Quito and we were told that yes, we could and they would be safe. We were provided a taxi into town right away. We returned to the hotel around 6pm to check in and have dinner in the hotel restaurant. We were showed to our room and it was very clean and comfortable. We went down for dinner and it too was very nice. The food was presented very nicely but the pizza was too greasy for me to eat. The breakfast buffet the next morning more than made up for the dinner meal. There was a very nice spread of fruits, eggs, breads, juice, etc. The fitness room was very nice and equipped with all that I needed. The trickiest part about the hotel is that we had the hardest time getting a taxi from downtown to the hotel. It was only about a 10 minute drive but it took 4 taxi drivers before one sort of knew where it was. The last driver told us to get in and he got us there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jean Precourt

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 10, 2014 on Hotels.com