Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff & breakfast

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Staff, breakfast, quiet location.
Location: Near Ragusa, Modica, Scicli, but out away from any town or attractions; a car a must.
Room a bit spartan but clean and relatively large; quiet; breakfast buffet one of the best we had; it included fresh ricotta in little baskets along with good espresso, fruit, salumi, tarts, breads, etc. They sell wine as well, and we bought a nice Cerasuolo di Vittoria. Best event was driving down to Scicli in the evening and enjoying the passeggiata.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet with pool near Ragusa

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Quiet, in country just a few minutes outside beautiful Ragusa, with wonderful staff, lovely pool and deck, free bikes to ride, amazing breakfast, clean and well maintained simple rooms. Though the way is well marked with signs once you get on the local road leading to Artemisia, if you will be arriving via the hill towns of Southeast Sicily with their lack of any functional signage make sure you get very careful directions.
4 out of 5
by Donna from Philly area

Nice hotel outside of Ragusa

Posted May 29, 2014
Cons: would be nice to have more fresh fruit and yogurt choices for breakfast.
It was tough to find after our iPhone battery died (google maps) but we were able to stop into a car dealer and recharge. The setting was lovely and the price was right. Very clean. Very new. Breakfast was okay but I'm not a big cake eater for breakfast and the choices were cakes or cereal. All in all it was a very clean comfortable place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet & tranquil contrast to the city chaos

Posted May 17, 2014
Pros: Great breakfasts, tranquil setting, landscaped gardens and comfortable bedroom
Location: Baroque Sicily is on the doorstep - Ragusa, Modica, Scicli, Noto.......and you may bump into Inspector Montelbano
Lovely al fresco breakfasts with staff helpful & friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alex from London

Lovely hotel

Posted Mar 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Artimesia is a beautiful place to stay. The rooms are comfortable (lovely and warm in the winter months with underfloor heating). The staff are courteous and very helpful and the breakfasts are wonderful. The only thing is that a car is a must both to get to the hotel and to local sites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by David from Merseyside, UK

Excellent, once youv'e found it!

Posted Nov 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel's location is fairly remote, and (not having a sat-nav) we had great difficulty finding it, partly because the signage on the main roads petered out. However, the Artemesia lived up to expectation, with large bedrooms, comfy beds, very friendly staff, and a good buffet breakfast taken on the outside terrace. We only wished we could have stayed longer and sampled the outdoor swimming-pool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap, yes, but does not rate rave reviews.

Posted Sep 28, 2013
Pros: Cost
Cons: Noise
Plain hotel in unattractive surroundings, but cheap and therefore quite good value. Noisy - next door room and dogs barking through the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anna from England, UK

Superb hotel 15 min drive from Ragusa.

Posted Jun 26, 2013
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff, lovely room, delicious breakfast.
Cons: You do have to drive to it, and to go out for dinner.
Location: 15 minutes drive from Ragusa, 20 minutes drive to the sea. Perfect for following the Montalbano trail.
I had read other excellent reviews for this hotel and I was not disappointed. The Artemesia Resort is just fabulous. The room was very comfortable and clean. The shower was great. There was a hairdryer, a fridge, a safe, and air-con in the room that worked well. The staff spoke excellent English and were extremely helpful. If you told them where you wanted to visit they produced a map, told you where you could park and recommended a restaurant. Breakfast was also superb. A buffet was available every morning with rolls, cheeses, hams, egg, jams, fresh fruit and pastries and cakes to die for! I can't fault this hotel. It's not in walking distance of shops or restaurants, so you do have to drive to it, but then it's peaceful and has a lovely swimming pool (with a Jacuzzi), and it's not too expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Victoria from Norfolk

Comfortable stopover for family touring Sicily

Posted Jun 10, 2013
Pros: Sicilian hospitality
Cons: A little out of the way
Location: A car is a must.
Stayed one night on our independent tour of Sicily. It was a little hard to find, and a little out of the way for our journey plans, but the staff were so welcoming it was worth the small diversion. Clean, comfortable and with a kettle in the room, it was perfect for one night. There is a lovely swimming pool which we we told we could use anytime day or night - but alas, the weather was terribly cold and windy we could not brave it! No food on site but we were recommended to visit a pizzeria, 10 mins drive away, which was also very good. Lots of fuel stations locally also, which was handy for the long drive the next day. Breakfast was very good and plentiful, with traditional Sicilian cakes, tarts and biscuits, fresh juice and coffee.