Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good hotel with a great restaurant

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Fine food, wine and service with excellent grounds.
Cons: Bathroom plumbing, which was a bit old fashioned.
Location: Ideal for Ragusa
This converted monastery aims high, and for the most part they succeed. The recent conversion of the monastery has been done in great style. The service is excellent and attentive, and most staff speak English. The grounds are beautiful and peaceful and very rural. The restaurant has a superb chef and wine list, and our dinner there was excellent. Breakfast, too, has a wide choice including hot items. We had a standard room, which was smaller than we would normally expect for a hotel of this class, and the plumbing in the bathroom frankly needed renewal. It is a short drive from Ragusa Ibla and is the perfect place to stay when visiting the town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Los Altos, CA

Former monastery updated beautifully!

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Location: Cycling and visiting old town Ragusa.
We had booked a cottage, which was down the path from the main building and dining room. It had a bit of a humidity problem, so the general manager without hesitation moved us to the best room in the main building. It was incredible! The food in the restaurant was divine. The breakfast buffet also. Top notch.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Absolutely Dreadful. Please Avoid.

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: The haste with which we left it.
Cons: Hire staff that are properly trained in hospitality. Fix the multiple plumbing issues.
Location: It is in the middle of nothing. Better you stay in Ragusa.
In an otherwise wonderful two week Sicilian holiday, this was the unsightly blemish. The hotel markets itself as luxury, comfort, and exclusive. The reality is that while it appears to fill that bill, it is quite lacking on all the key points. Directions we were provided to the hotel were grossly inaccurate, compounded by the fact that several locals we encountered had no idea where the property was. Additionally, Hotel staff were unable/unwilling to explain exactly how to get to the property. During a period of two hours (yes two hours) no effort was expended on their part to assist us, despite their knowledge that we couldn't find the place. The service from Margarita was incomprehensibly awful. Upon our belated arrival, we were rudely greeted by the same hotel staff who assured us that everything that had gone wrong was our fault, at one point arguing with us in front of other guests. The room was tiny, smelled of carpet air freshener, and was quite noisy due to flushing toilets and rushing water sounds. The climate control was not functioning properly which added to the dark comedy that this hotel is. Despite prepaying for this room for two nights, we opted to leave after the first. (Yes, it really is that bad!) Please pick another property. We stayed in Ragusa at the Antica Badia Relais Hotel, which was simply wonderful. Please read my other reviews on Expedia or Booking to get a sense of my other reviews. This Hotel really should be avoided if possible.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom north carina

Do not go if you have allergies

Posted Mar 27, 2015
The fragrance in this hotel was so strong I had an asthma attack. Very hard to find even using GPS. A long out of town. Restaurant food just passable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Williamfrom Miami

Sicilian country estate

Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels
Beautifully restored and maintained property,producing its own products,wines and crops. Honors history of Knights of Malta (to whom it once belonged) in decor and style. Friendly helpful staff. Our room had a terrace
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Staff Dedicated to the Comfort of Guests

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Our experience started with a frantic call close to midnight that we were lost over the central mountains in Sicily trying to reach Ragusa from the A19 highway. Rocco who answered the phone guided us and helped us keep calm. We finally arrived after he was gone and Lorenzo did his best to help us feel at home, got us the room we liked and made sure we could go to sleep feeling that our troubles were behind us. We stayed three nights. Salvatore, the General Manager, greeted us the next day and organized our travels meticulously, where to go, how to get there, where to have lunch, etc. Invaluable. The second day my wife who was having some back pain problems had a pretty bad relapse. Salvatore and Rocco went into action, brought in a doctor to the hotel, and after some treatment we were ready to resume our tours. The hotel is beautiful, relaxing and well run.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stuartfrom Malta

Serenity, and exclusivity with tailored service

Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels
We booked as its in Ragusa, it looked great and the pictures were amazing, we were not disappointed, the staff from reception all the way through were amazing, the food incredible, the scenery great, the pool cool (it was october after all) wine selection excellent, rooms clean, and overall an amazing romantic place to getaway. Anything we wanted they organised for us, my wife took a quick cooking course with the chef, they organised flowers in the room, and even a birthday cake. Incredible experience, we will be back, soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new jersey

Nice hotel, wonderful, accommodating staff

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Beautiful bucolic setting. Lovely grounds and pool area. Wonderful staff ready to meet all and any of your needs. The desk manager went to Ragusa and bought me a BD cake when it was too late for the chef to make one. The chef was wonderful, the best food we experienced in Sicily. Giorgio is certainly one chef to keep your eye on! He has big plans for the future food at the hotel. One caution, the standard room size can be very small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom milano

Splendido hotel nella campagna ragusana

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Purtroppo ho soggiornato in questo splendido eremo solo 1 giorno. Un posto incantevole, elegante, pulito e rilassantissimo. Il ristorante offre delle pietanze che ben sanno unire la tradizione siciliana alle innovazioni. Tutto veramente buono.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Viaggio nel tempo

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels
Incantevole posto con personale qualificato, gentile e disponibile. Struttura recuperata magnificamente per creare un'oasi di pace. Colazione all'altezza. Unico piccolo neo il bagno, a cui necessiterebbero alcune manutenzioni.