Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with great service

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Could not do enough for you. Very professional and friendly. Would not hesitate to recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by CherylFran from Budapest

Very nice hotel in one of the most beautiful towns

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
I spent two nights in Modica during a recent vacation in Sicily and stayed at the Palazzo Failla. The hotel is in a very good location in Modica Alta. It was easy to walk everywhere. Because we were looking for a room with twin beds, we had the attic room. It was quiet, had a bright skylight to let light in, and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was also fine. A very nice Italian breakfast was served each morning. The hotel has a good bar as well and helpful staff. Would return to this place again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel of our trip

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff, had a room across the street newly renovated, upstairs from a Locanda- amazing food we ate there lunch and dinner.
Cons: Not a single thing!
Location: Be sure to try the chocolate. Just walk- its a great "real" city.
Staff was amazing, Michelin star restaurant for dinner (breakfast there as well). Great location away from hub of tourist craziness so local feel, nice little piazza close by with lots of local color. Good exercise walking to and fro though they will pick you up if you are too tired to walk back! We had a car and when we arrived the owner of the hotel himself parked the car for us. He grew up in the Palazzo and converted to a hotel 7 years ago.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wendy from London

Baroque comfort

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Pros: Decor,comfort,friendliness,food- both evening and breakfast
Cons: Nothing
Location: Situated in Baroque town with others nearby, a good centre from which to visit them,Syracuse and the temples ay Agrigento
Lovely hotel in fascinating setting. Charming , helpful staff. Delicious food in main hotel and linked restaurant, we will be recommending it to all our friends
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Laszlo from England, UK

Ttraditional style and character

Posted Jun 27, 2013
Pros: Old fashioned charm with modern comfort
Cons: .Traffic noise outside
Location: In old Modica among maze of narrow streets.
Traditional hotel with charming rooms. Very helpful staff. in Reception and hotel bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Highland Heights,OH

Old World charm w/ modern comforts

Posted Jun 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
I chose this hotel strictly b/c of the excellent reviews I read online. the reviews were right on the money. the decor is oozing w/ character. the front desk personell could not have been more helpful & sweet. our room had a terrace that we actually sat out out on @ night w/ candles & ate a picnic dinner on. the room had a mini sitting area, old world style complete w/ anitiques & tile floors, bathroom was large, modern & spotelessly clean w/ a skylight that opened electronically. the onsite restaurant was extremely overpriced but everything else was incredible. this will go down in history as one of our all time favorite hotels & we have travelled extensively. it was intimate & seemed more like a B & B. we adore the Pallazzo Failla !!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor Standard

Posted May 28, 2013
We arrived at the hotel,and were shown a room,which had no window,was poorly maintained,and in need of refurbishment,we declined the room,and were told it was the only room aavailable,we weren,t prepared to stay and asked for a refund to which they agreed but subsequently did not repay to expedia,shame as the other reviews for the hotel had been positive
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by James + Maggie from Suffolk, UK

Great Hotel but a few niggles.

Posted May 22, 2013
Pros: Breakfasts, kindness and attention by family owners, situation
Cons: Accommodation in the Annexe, Can be difficult to find with a Sat Nav.
Location: Excellent and near to all facilities. Situated in a quiet area. Great for exploring
I would have rated this hotel much higher except for the following; Room although very comfortable was in an annexe separate from the main hotel, by 100m Unable to access films,shower needed attention, new parts required for the main shower head which would slip down it's pole. Hotel very apologetic and left a bottle of bubbly at 11pm on our last night which we returned. Hotel staff very hospitable and welcoming. Limited restaurant opportunities in the hotel except for the 1 star Michelin establishment where a meal for two cost about 210 euros with wine. Although this was very good we felt it was overpriced compared with similar and 2 star Michelin restaurants in the U K. Garden House in Cambridge for example. Breakfast were wonderful with excellent selection of very good food. We would have preferred to have stayed in the main hotel, given we had booked an executive double room. Will return someday but will insist we are accommodated in the main hotel which feels sumptuous
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barbara from Worcester, UK

Perfect Hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2013
Pros: Staff, room, breakfast
Cons: Hard to get to on public transport
Location: At the top of the old town- didn't have exact location -train station at other end of town.
This was a wonderful hotel: the staff, particularly the reception staff, Laura and Julia, were wonderful, Laura and Julia helped us in lots of ways: when we arrived exhausted, finding out and checking travel information,expediting our laundry. The room was beautiful and we had our ouwn pc. Breakfast was delicious with fresh juice and proper coffee. Other guests were very well behaved. Bliss
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Manilla from UK

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
There was a problem when we arrived with our room, but the hotel receptionist showed me a small double and gave us a complementary meal for one in the hotel restuarant, where we'd already booked a table for dinner anyway. They couldn't do more for us and were very apologetic. Lovely stay, would have liked more time there. Only problem is the parking. It's a nightmare around there, with narrow roads and our car got knocked while parked on a side road opposite the hotel.