Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sara from US

Hotel in Paradise

Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff was exceptionally friendly and informative. Food was very good, rooms air conditioned for we wimpy Americans. There was a lively and authentic show on Friday night which was great fun. Would certainly stay again if we went back to the Islands.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Judi from Indiana

Wonderful surprise

Posted Mar 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful resort. We got leis and colorful lemonade drink on arrival. Flowers everywhere inside the room. Great food and show in the evening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mattattack from Auckland

NO AIR CON.

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
THE Hotel is a little tired, needs upgrade. Room nice over the water room. No A/C in the room. SErvice was great, nice food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Judybug from Los Angeles, CA

Nice location in Raiatea

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Pros: The people who work at Hawaiki Nui are terrific. From the moment we checked in until checkout, we felt cared for and welcome.
Cons: Telephones did not work in the room to call the front desk.
Location: Raiatea as an island is more about boating and water sports than a beach destination. Its a beautiful island that is laid back and carefree.
This hotel is in a very nice location on the water. The staff was fantastic and very friendly - we were greeted with a fruit drink and leis when we arrived; check in was quick and our bags delivered to our over-water bungalow before we walked through the gardens to get to the bungalow. The property is one of the oldest over-water bungalow hotels in the islands but it has aged well. The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. We did not use the marina, sports center or the swimming pool but the snorkeling around the bungalows was great; you jump right into the ocean from your deck. Beach towels were provided in each room, and there was a table and chairs for morning coffee or afternoon cocktails, and two lounge chairs for catching some sun. We ate at the hotel for all meals; breakfast buffet wasn't all that great but the dinners were al la carte and everything we ate was very good. The free Polynesian show on Friday nights can't be missed - a five star experience! Overall rating for the hotel is excellent but don't expect fancy. It's a small resort that has been carefully cared for over the years. Pick it for the friendly staff and cleanliness and you won't be disappointed. We would definitely stay at Hawaiki Nui Hotel should we visit Raiatea again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

VERY HAPPY WIH OUR OVERWATER BUNGALOW

Posted Jan 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
INCLUDED A FRIDAY NITE POLYNESIAN SHOW THAT WAS GREAT. HOTEL IS A BARGIN WITH GOOD FOOD AS WELL.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Rich

Visit to Raiatea

Posted Oct 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
Although not cheap, it is probably one of the cheapest overwater bungalows you'll find in French Polynesia. It does require some maintenance such as the glass floor in the room should be replace with a cleaner one and the deck boards can use a replacing, but still I enjoyed my stay there and would go back. I read reviews where people complained about the noise, and although it is loud, its the ocean waves crashing into the wall and for me, I enjoyed it and found it relaxing. I like being able to jump off the balcony into the ocean and the snorkeling was amazing. The staff was extremely friendly and enjoyed talking stories. The free Polynesian show was awesome and the dancers were Gorgeous. The town was about a 10-15 minute walk, so a car wasn't even needed. I just rented a scooter for 4 hours to circle the island. I recommend this hotel if you're in Raiatea!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Grant from Auckland, New Zealand

Relaxing

Posted Jun 21, 2012
Great relaxing no worries no hassel place to stay - really enjoyed it and the staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beautiful location, too loud music

Posted May 29, 2012
Pros: snorkelling on the reef
Cons: music from the bar area
its trying to be the "place to be" for locals on a wednesday, thursday, friday, saturday night. it meant loud thumping music in the bar which is easily audible from all rooms until midnight. Not at all what we were looking for in a honeymoon location. Can't recommend this hotel to anyone if they are going to continue with the bands/DJs 3/4 times a week, unless of course you're there as a single person, but then you wouldn't choose Polynesia as a holiday destination in the first place
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brett from Utah, USA

Good and Bad

Posted May 7, 2012
The Hotel was generous and gave us an upgrade from a garden room to a bungalow. However, the bungalow had significant bug issues, no air conditioning and the phone didn't work. There are lots of fish to watch and enjoy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Hawaiki Nui raiatea - loved it

Posted Apr 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
We stayed at the Hawaiki nui bungalows for our first night in French Polynesia. It was a wonderful beginning. The over the water bungalow was very private. Although simple, we loved the originality and quaintness of the hotel. Our room had a glass floor and a large deck attached to our bungalow where we could sit and enjoy the beautiful sunset. The restaurant had a fantastic Tahitian dance show that was free and really entertaining. A local family of about 20 performed it. I would recommend it to anyone going to raiatea.