Ratings based on 302 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom PA

Affordable, trendy hotel near UNC Campus

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Style, concept is nice; different.
Cons: Repair ceilings, ensure musky smell removed, add microwaves.
Location: Fairly close to campus, easy access to hwy.
We spent just one night at Aloft, but had a nice experience. The room is decent sized, set up as a studio style apartment. Large TV, ports for connecting your electronic devices, shower only bathroom with updated fixtures. Slight smell due to glass enclosure of shower, otherwise very clean. No microwave which was a bummer but there was a refrigerator and coffee maker. Ceiling in room could use some smoothing out. Overall fine. Lobby is more like a club - walk in to the bar, pool table to the left. Breakfast area to the right behind the check-in counter. Check-in doesn't look like the place where you check-in and I had to ask.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orlando, FL

Modern hotel close to UNC

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: Extremely nice, modern design.
Cons: The cooked breakfast takes an insanely long time to prepare but there is a specialty breakfast restaurant within walking distance.
Location: Chapel Hill is a beautiful college town with excellent restaurants
The Aloft is very European in feel and their concept is solid and well thought through. For our purposes, the hotel is well located both for the university campus and the tri-city airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cool Hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Family in town for ball game. Unique hotel with indoor pool and pool table. Will stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Greenville, NC

Great hotel for visits with UNC student daughter:)

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Very hip fun hotel within walking distance to great restaurants and shopping. We stay here when we visit our UNC student daughter who lives within walking distance of the hotel. A very convenient enjoyable stay every time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Durham

Place to be!

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: trendy, up to date!
Location: right in the heart of Chapel Hill
excellent choice enviroment and option! Parking nearby, secure lot
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Aloft Hotel a Disappointing Experience

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Closeness to campus.
Cons: Almost everything.
Location: Close to UNC campus so convenient for football game.
This hotel has one thing going for it - location, close to UNC campus - that is, if you can find it. Directions were hard to follow from the airport. Finally stopped and had a kid at a gas station look it up. More like a dorm than a hotel. Lots of young people running up and down the halls. Very noisy until 1:00 in the morning. Wouldn't stay here again unless desperate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Raleigh

Not Very Happy

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: NO COMMENT
Cons: Back -up Plan For Hot Breakfast
Location: No Comment
Folk's I Was Not Happy There With NO BREAKFAST on SUNDAY MORNING! You Would Think For The Room Prices That This Facility Would Have A Back-Up Plan With The Chef?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay.

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: Clean, quiet, useful amenities (24hr food/snack area in lobby, computers/printer, free wifi, bar, pool, workout room, pool table), easy parking.
Cons: Ability to accurately control room temp. Have a dedicated bathroom light...can't light bathroom without lighting entire room.
First time at Aloft. Very impressed and would stay again. Great staff, very clean and comfortable. One of the few hotels in the vicinity with no bed bug reports. My only complaint was not feeling in control of the air temp in the room. Was either too hot or too cold and adjusting the thermostat didn't seem to do anything. Air comes on extremely loud and in random intervals, making it hard to sleep. I really didn't sleep well because of this.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Athens, Georgia

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Not worth the money. We arrived late and we were treated as imbecils because we could not find were to park. Everything was full due to Halloween. The room was ok, but the shower glass wall is conected to the room, so you not only hear the water, but you see the light. There was coffee, but just one creamer in the room. Because of Halloween, kids werer running in the hallways up to who knows when. They charged us 50 dollars after we left, just in case there was something damaged. I will get those denied from my credit card!! The only person nice was the bar tender. Everyone else, mostly young people, seem to care less about how to run a hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com