Ratings based on 577 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not stay here again

Posted Aug 15, 2014
The quality of the hotel and the patrons have continued to decrease over the last few years. I was quite disappointed with the lack of hospitality, old rooms, people hanging out in front of their rooms in chairs, making it uncomfortable, smoke smell in the rooms.....
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

3 1/2 stars ... seriously?!! Not staying here!!!!!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: The people working at the front desk were extremely nice, as helpful as they could be and as understanding as they could be.
Cons: Everything - The website pictures are misleading as well as the mentioning of a recent update.
Location: Location is near shopping centers and not to far from town - would be worth the investment of a true improvement.
Took 4 girls to a sports camp at UNC. We arrived the night before since we were a long way from home and had a morning check-in. The hotel looks nothing like the photos online for it has definitely seen better days. The girls were already telling me that they would not stay there from the outside appearance alone. They thought it did not look safe. I went in, even checked in, walked to the room with the girls, you could smell the room from outside the door - That stale smoke smell! Yuck! The room did look as clean as it could be. We turned around and I promptly checked back out. Expedia did work with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Nice, cheap option

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Easy to get to from highway, close to downtown, inexpensive.
Cons: The hotel is showing some cosmetic signs of wear.
Stayed here for 3 nights while I was attending a music Festival that was in Durham & Carborro. Overall, I enjoyed my stay here. The room was clean, didn't smell of smoke, the bed was comfortable, and it was easy to get to. The Hotel was an old Holiday Inn (the numbers on the doors still have the logo), so you probably already know what to expect at this hotel. They did not have breakfast, but there were plenty of places nearby. It was very easy to get to from the Raleigh airport, and it was a short drive to downtown Chapel Hill & Carborro. If you need a place to stay on a budget, this is the place for you. I would stay here again for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

University move in

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Great location. Not the newest buildings and facilities but they do a good job keeping it updated and in good condition
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

An Okay Hotel for a Night in a Pinch

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: It had a baseball logo on the door and I'm a big baseball fan.
Cons: Outside appearance, better signage to identify hotel and more consistent staff at the front desk. No one there day of checkout!
Location: Duke University, Bennett House, Duke Homestead
The Hotel is conveniently located to restaurants, grocery stores, Duke University and other attractions. It is an older hotel and outside of building is not kept up well and there is only complimentary continental breakfast for the upgraded rooms. Honestly, I did not see any difference in the rooms but maybe there are, who knows! Not a place I would stay again if given the choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coastal NC

Weekend getaway

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Overall good stay for the price. Staff was very friendly and helpful, room was comfortable and mostly clean (did find a used cup in the fridge) but fairly small for a family of 4. The pool and various sitting areas around the grounds were nice. Only complaint was the small amount of parking, first night there was a live band performing at the joining restaurant that drew a crowd, so when we got back from shopping we had to park across the street at the Food Lion then move the car after midnight to avoid being towed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Rooms are marginal in terms of comfort and cleanliness. Feels like a motel, not a hotel. I had to call the operator in order to get the front desk person to wake up from the back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Non-smoking room smelled liked smoke. Found cigarette butts and other garbage at head of the bed. No garbage can in bathroom and only very small one in room. Hotel rules not enforced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

overnight

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Cons: cleanliness
Location: opposite a main mall
a quick overnighter to see my daughter at UNC CH. The staff were excellent, facilities OK and food good. Good value for money
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

too much cigarette smoke

Posted Jul 1, 2014
was given a smoking room instead of non -smoking room and had to air out the room and spray a massive amount of febreeze before we could settle in for the night. (they were completely booked and couldn't move us to another room.)