Ratings based on 610 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for our one night to go to ball game

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Outdoor areas for sitting - coffee in lobby - UNC stuff
We were able to get in early which was very helpful. The fellow at the desk was most pleasant and fun. No complaints at all - good location for getting quickly to UNC campus.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Managua

Decent hotel, nice staff

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Staff was great.
Cons: Probably could invest in some improvements, maintenance.
Location: Not much, but good shuttle to UNC
Good stuff, hotel is pretty clean, nice staff. Some technical problems, but staff resolved them. Missed having a do not disturb sign on the door, but probably could have requested one. For some reason they always left the heat on way too high and it was balmy in the room, but easily fixed. Hotel is ok, but seems to be deteriorating somewhat in condition. Fine for me though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jannat

It was a nice experience with such a cheap rate!

Posted Oct 18, 2014
I liked staying here. But I would recommend a breakfast facilities here. Staffs were nice, room was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Durham, NC

Okay for one night.

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Dirty linens left outside our room all night even after I had asked for them to be removed. Room needs an update! Mold and mildew smell coming from the air conditioner. I realize there's a nostalgic factor but update already!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from safety Harbor, Fl

I was there one night. I did not get to enjoy it .

Posted Oct 14, 2014
It was like being back in time or on St. Pete Beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancaster, pa

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Room was much bigger then we expected. Very clean. Comfortable. We were just over all very pleased with our stay and will definitely be booking a room again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Person Co., NC

A particularly good value in expensive Chapel Hill

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Location, accessibility to dining and other services, pleasing room decor with refrigerator and microwave at very competitive price.
Cons: Non-smoking room smelled very, very faintly of smoke but not a problem for me at all. in house dining not a good option.
Location: Many dining facilities nearby across the price range and with excellent variety. Good access to University and highways
I stayed for two nights and found the room much nicer than Chapel Hill hotels in this price range. Very convenient location and the staff was prompt and very helpful. An older facility but well maintained. I will definitely stay there again and would not hesitate to refer others and guests to this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not that great

Posted Aug 25, 2014
It's really old, kinda gross. Not renovated at all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not stay here again

Posted Aug 15, 2014
The quality of the hotel and the patrons have continued to decrease over the last few years. I was quite disappointed with the lack of hospitality, old rooms, people hanging out in front of their rooms in chairs, making it uncomfortable, smoke smell in the rooms.....
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

3 1/2 stars ... seriously?!! Not staying here!!!!!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: The people working at the front desk were extremely nice, as helpful as they could be and as understanding as they could be.
Cons: Everything - The website pictures are misleading as well as the mentioning of a recent update.
Location: Location is near shopping centers and not to far from town - would be worth the investment of a true improvement.
Took 4 girls to a sports camp at UNC. We arrived the night before since we were a long way from home and had a morning check-in. The hotel looks nothing like the photos online for it has definitely seen better days. The girls were already telling me that they would not stay there from the outside appearance alone. They thought it did not look safe. I went in, even checked in, walked to the room with the girls, you could smell the room from outside the door - That stale smoke smell! Yuck! The room did look as clean as it could be. We turned around and I promptly checked back out. Expedia did work with us.