Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is fine for what you pay

Posted Feb 24, 2014
It was fine. Staff was nice. I ended being put on the fourth floor which has smoking rooms. The hallways smelled of smoke,but my room was fine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Hotel in Durham

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Hotel service, breakfast service, room cleanliness
Location: UNC
Hotel smelled like smoke (even though our room was smoke-free); we had to kill a few cockroaches in the room. Close to midnight, someone tried to break into our room - it startled us - it was from the adjoining room. We called the front desk - not satisfied. My husband went to the front desk - the hotel clerk told us to handle it ourselves. Very disappointing. We did not sleep well all night because we were scared. I had my young daughter with us in the hotel and she could not sleep.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I was lied to by an employee of the Comfort Inn.

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: I have instructed by Service Team of 12 and my sales team of 10 to not stay in Comfort Inns. I was forced by your survey to rate the hotel.
Cons: We do not need to be lied to by an employee of the Hotel.
We made our reservation through Expedia with no problem. We started out to reach Chapel Hill at 3:00 PM(normally an hours drive) during what has now been classified as the worst snow storm in 20 years in the southeast. We blew a tire on the inter-state at 7:00 PM at a point that was only half way to Chapel Hill. We decided we could not make it to Chapel Hill and called the hotel to cancel the two rooms. The young lady was very understanding and thanked us for the call and stated we can now rent the room to someone else. She said she would take care of cancelling the room. No mention was made to call Expedia. In hind sight we should have called Expedia right then. We called Expedia I believe the next day to confirm the cancellation was complete and were told by Expedia that we needed to get the name of the person we spoke with. We called the Comfort Inn same day and were told that was not the company policy to cancel rooms that late. I called back Friday evening hoping to catch the night employee. They would not give me the person's name that worked Wednesday evening, but called the person and we were told by the Comfort Inn that the person specifically told us to call Expedia. We are not stupid. If we had been told to call Expedia we would have--we had nothing to do while we waited for help with our car. We do not need to be lied to by an employee of the Comfort Inn. I would like to request that we get a full credit for the two rooms if we have been charged.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 17, 2014
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Teacher from Morganton NC

Nice , if the cigarette smoke wasn't so strong!

Posted Jan 12, 2014
The hotel itself is very nice. Continental breakfast, very courteous staff, clean and tidy rooms, etc. But the cigarette smoke smell is stifling! The problem is that the smoking from the smoking rooms drifts down the halls and into the nonsmokers' rooms. Why bother ruining such a nice facility by allowing smoking in the rooms at all? It would be a wonderful place to stay, were it not for the ever-present cloud of smoke in the corridors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by greg from new bern nc

stayed one night

Posted Dec 17, 2013
Pros: The suite and the breakfast. Closeness to restaurants and shopping and to the swim meet we were attending.
Cons: I wish we could have had 2 queen beds and a better pull-out sofa. Being a single parent with a son and daughter we would have liked 3 comfortable beds
Location: There were shopping and restaurants near us. We were attending a swim meet so did not have time for any other recreation.
We stayed one night in a king suite. It was very comfortable. Breakfast was good. Would stay in this hotel or another comfort Inn again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bathroom/shower

Posted Dec 13, 2013
I would have the maid service check the bathrooms better. The shower head fell off once the shower was turned on and the knob for the shower did not seem to operate correctly. You had to play with knob to get the temp right.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel smelled like cigarette smoke
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 6, 2013