Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2 nights at the Marriot Durham Conv. Center

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Bedding/pillows were nice.
Cons: rest of the room, furniture, bathroom small and old, faucets old.
Location: Just there for a wedding. Duke nearby and wonderful to visit. Food trucks/rfarmers market fun to walk through and try different foods, etc..
The hotel feels very outdated. We were unable to get internet in our room, they argued about free parking which was offered in my deal with Expedia. The bathroom/bedrooms are basically old motel rooms but with 8 floors. Beds and sheets were nice. Rest of the place very mediocre. The staff however was very nice and accomodating. But they need to renovate this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2014 by Woochan K, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for staying with us and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to internet and parking service. And we also appreciate your good comments about our staff. Hope to see you again to show you Durham Marriott at its best on your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, NC

Super convenient to DPAC

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: A wider variety (larger) snack shop
Location: I am not familiar with Durham so I can't really say much about the location other than what I already did about the convenience to DPAC.
We were only there for a 1 night stay. We were in town for an evening event @ DPAC. The staff was great from the moment we pulled up until the moment we drove away the next morning. The valet staff was very helpful with directions & extremely prompt when we were ready to leave. We walked to the event (hotel is about 4 blocks from DPAC) but they (valet & desk staff) made a point of asking us, "How was the show?" when we returned. The walk back was late in the evening but the area was well-lit & we felt completely safe. Room service was faster than Jimmy John's! We really could not have asked for a better experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near DPAC

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Nice visit! Easy walking distance to DPAC to see our show. Great staff!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Astoria, N.Y.

Great hotel, location was terrific.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: If it had a swimming pool, it would be perfect.
Location: Resturants, pubs, parks, it has it all.
Came here for a wedding, about 50 guests booked here. We took over the lobby/ sitting area near the bar. Even thou we weren't buying drinks or food, the staff let us occupy the tables. The entire hotel staff were extremely friendly & helpful. The hotel is within walking distance to numerous resturants & pubs, no need for a car.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A very out of date Marriott with that 80's style

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: It is well located
Cons: Elevators need a major overhaul. Lobby needs to be updated. The only reason to stay here is that there are not many other options.
Elevators need a major overhaul. Lobby needs to be updated. The only reason to stay here is that there are not many other options.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2014 by Woochan K, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. One elevator that was out when you were here has been fixed. Thank you for your understanding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location & comfy rooms. No WiFi or breakfast

Posted May 30, 2014
The hotel is in very good location right in the heart of Durham center. The rooms are quite comfortable and everything else is like any other Marriott. They recently started to charge for WiFi in the bedroom which really is a deal breaker. I'm very much against this policy and I most certainly will be going to another hotel as soon as there's something else in the area. Complimentary breakfast is another miss, but this has always been like this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Sara from Charlotte

Bulls Game

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here for a night after watching the Durham Bulls. It was the closest hotel to the ballpark at a great price. Will stay here again for future games.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by syrupmaker from Atlanta

great downtown stay

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location is great - easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, and especially the Durham Bulls Baseball Park. Front desk was okay but the staff in the bar area were very friendly and helpful. Room service was quick and the food was fantastic. Not much parking so had to valet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2014
Cons: See above
Would be nice to offer internet in the rooms rather than just the lobby. Site stated free internet and free parking. Parking was free on the street no parking lot.