Ratings based on 347 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Troon was average

Posted Mar 9, 2015
The room was comfy and clean but smelled musty and there were only 2 small pillows on each bed. When we requested 2 more they only had 1
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice room; loud location

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: Room, staff
Cons: Level of noise, especially during weekends
Location: Next to highway; close to shopping and restaurants, but too far away from Duke, so not convenient for Duke-bound students & researchers.
I stayed here for a week and was very pleased with the room -- it was spacious, nicely decorated (especially for budget hotel room), and very clean. However, the hotel is right next to the highway and can therefore be quite noisy. I found it especially hard to fall asleep during the weekends, as there were cars coming in and out of the parking lot at all hours and guests in the surrounding rooms were quite noisy. Another thing that bothered me is that my room was supposed to be a non-smoking room, yet it smelled quite heavily of cigarettes. I would recommend this hotel to others as it offers really good value for the money and the staff are super helpful and nice, but I probably wouldn't stay there again as it wasn't the right fit for me.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Extremely loud and smokey!

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Upon arrival, the front desk staff was very pleasant and as I was signing in, I mentioned I was surprised about the requirement to waive refunds if a noise complaint is filed against you and you are asked to leave. She said they take noise complaints very seriously and visitors have a right to expect quiet and comfort, therefore guests are asked to leave if there is any complaint. Wow, I thought would mean this was a very quiet place and we would get a good night sleep. I was wrong. We were located on the second floor and given it is a motel style with doors opening to the outside, there is bound to be some noise. There was lots of noise and not at discussion levels - at yelling and party volumes. I figured I'd wait and see how things were after 10pm - a reasonable mandatory quiet hour. One group stopped and so I thought we were in the clear. Then another group started. It was difficult to tell if it was to the left or right of us and then it started coming from upstairs. Yes, I could have called the front desk but I honestly couldn't figure out the exact location of the noise and didn't want to incorrectly report someone and certainly wasn't about to go outside in the middle of the night to confront someone. Eventually (around 2am) it quieted down only to be awakened again around 4am when some presumably drunk guests were arriving. To make matters worse, the pillows stunk of smoke. I thought it was the pillowcases but it was deep within the pillows. Disgusting!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom boston, ma

Check-in

Posted Feb 10, 2015
I couldn't check in until 3, even though regular check-in was 2pm. So, I came back around 4:30 to check-in. Other than that the hotel room was clean and close to NCSSM.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No frills

Posted Feb 9, 2015
There are no "extras" like a hairdryer, conditioner, q-tips. The walls are thin and other guests are loud. Not a great area of town.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte, NC

Cheap but not good

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: Price.
Cons: Everything could be improved! Vacuum room, fine smokers for smoking in a non-smoking room. Provide earplugs.
Location: Duke Medical Center is nearby.
We have used Red Roof Inn before but this facility was very disappointing. The location has allot of highway noise and people were shouting through the night. And the room was dirty and unvacuumed and had cigarette ash on the bathroom floor even though it was a non-smoking room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to interstate 85

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: Location was great and the hotel was recently renovated.
Cons: Vending machines were expensive.
Location: Duke Homestead and tobacco museum near by.
Updated clean motel. Room nicely furnished, very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel experience

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: The room remodel was nice.
Cons: The surroundings and the security people sleeping in there vehicles it was odd for a hotel.
Location: 1915 North Pointe Dr. Durham, NC, eating experiences around the area was nice, love greenery, and the university was awesome.
This hotel experience was nice, I can tell of remodel so that was a good thing, but coming from out of time the security was not very welcoming. But over all hotel experience good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Forest, Virginia

Pleasant

Posted Jan 15, 2015
A very pleasant stay that's close to the highway. This was our second stay and will stay again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom k

Stayed Christmas Eve. Comfortable

Posted Dec 29, 2014
It was late at night and took a king room. It was surprisingly comfortable. My first Red Roof experience!