Ratings based on 380 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely old hotel!

Posted Nov 23, 2014
The Carolina Inn is a lovely old hotel that has been beautifully upgraded. The rooms are very pretty and well appointed. It's close to the university and convenient to most everything in Chapel Hill. The staff is very courteous and helpful. Our only complaint is the rooms are tiny. It's hard to navigate with suitcases and other items. But we will definitely stay there again because the positives outweigh the room size. A bit like a European boutique hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cabarrus County, North Carolina

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: proximity to UNC campus and Franklin Street
Cons: I would prefer not to pay extra for parking.
Overall, a very good experience. The location is excellent, and you can walk anywhere on UNC campus or Franklin Street. The room was exceptionally clean, large, and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Room is too small ! Location is great. Good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nc

adjacent to eating and campus we were visiting.

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: redone historical site, adjacent to campus we were visitng. services offered were great, staff friendly..... CLEAN!!!!
Location: busy popular franklin street, UNC chapel hill campus, restaurants, shops
clean room, friendly prompt service. my room was not ready when i arrived, but they put me in another one, i wasn't even sure why they would mention mine wasnt ready, there was no delay checking in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, Texas

Charming Hotel in Chapel Hill

Posted Nov 10, 2014
My daughter and I stayed here for a college tour visit. The Hotel was beautifully decorated. The location was spot on, we could walk to the admissions office within minutes. The only drawback was the water pressure in the shower which is a negligible flaw in comparison to the overwhelmingly wonderful stay we had. I would come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO

Carolina Inn is a total gem.

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Everything about our experience was remarkable. The hotel is beautifully decorated. The rooms are spacious, the beds are very comfortable, and the location could not be better
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Arrived late but was very impressed with the facility. The staff was a little less than helpful as we arrived early in the morning... they missed an opportunity to be helpful to very tired travelers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: The staff were great, the room was lovely
Cons: no
We were very late getting to the hotel due to other commitments the same day. the staff were wonderful, professional and helped to make the stay much more enjoyable. the room and beds were comfortable, well appointed and the breakfast room service was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Richmond, VA

Beautiful southern charm hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: I didn't find anything that could be improved.
Location: Great location if you are visiting UNC, nice restaurants in the area, very charming and safe area to walk around.
We loved staying in Carolina Inn, and would definitely come back and stay longer. It was beautiful, clean, close to UNC and right in downtown Chapel Hill. The staff was warm and friendly, the rooms spacious and clean. It was a delight to stay there and I could easily see us staying there for longer. I wish there were more hotels like that where you feel just like at home, yet the price is reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jayfrom Virginia

Nice Place

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice place, enjoyed our stay, worth the money, wonderful location to school, shopping and restaurants. We will return.