Ratings based on 160 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Carlos

Right downtown, excellent staff

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Good-sized room, staff very helpful, convenient location. Air conditioner in the room was loud, but perhaps we only noticed because we're from San Francisco and don't have AC. Will definitely stay here again when in Chapel Hill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Culpeper, VA

Loved our stay at The Franklin Hotel!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Location: The downtown location was great. We easily walked to the UNC campus and there were great restaurants to choose from steps from the hotel.
Our stay at The Franklin Hotel was a wonderful experience! The staff was very welcoming and friendly and we loved the downtown Chapel Hill location. The cookies at check-in were delicious, and we really enjoyed the free fancy waters provided in our room refrigerator. I was also impressed with the high-quality H20 spa samples of shampoo, conditioner, body wash, and lotion. The room and bathroom were comfortable and very well-decorated. Last but not least, the included breakfast was fantastic!!! There wasn't anything I didn't like about our one-night stay at The Franklin Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from charlotte nc

Terrific location convienient to everything!

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: everything plus parking !!!!
We were attending s show at the Durham DPAC which was a 1/2 hr direct shot drive!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KSr from NJ

Two night stay

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Great locatiob, beautiful room, Great breakfaat and excellent staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hoteler

Simply the best!

Posted May 30, 2014
The staff at the Franklin are beyond incredible. I always get a call when one of the lovely assistants, Kelly, notices I've booked, to see if I need anything. Trouble is, I rarely do, as the room is always spectacular, immaculate, wonderful smelling and almost the second I need fresh towels or more water, I will hear a very polite knock on the door (or I believe they've switched over to actual doorbells now.. So lovely!). I can't say it enough, this really is my favorite place to stay in the whole world and I would love here if I could! Please treat the staff kindly, as I'm sure at that level of care, it can't be easy keeping up with all guests, but they seem to do so with grace and always a smile. Thank you, Franklin hotel, for always exceeding my highest expectations as my home away from home. :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yvette

Great location, near lots of restaurants.

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: The staff, location, and breakfast. Oh, fresh baked cookies, too.
Cons: Can't think of a thing.
Location: Downtown, near EVERYTHING!
We had a wonderful time, the included breakfast was amazing. The staff was helpful and went out of their way to make our stay amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from Durham, England

Modern hotel with excellent staff

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: The staff. Generosity in not charging for small things that other hotels make you pay for. A good bar.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Conveniently located. I was working and not looking for things to do, so can't give more details.
I was staying in Chapel Hill for a couple of days before an academic conference on the campus. The hotel provided everything that I needed, with particularly friendly, cheerful and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kim from Tampa Florida

Southern Charm!

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: Everything from the turn down service with chocolate and water at night to made to order homemade free breakfast!!
Cons: Nothing!
I stayed at the hotel for a work trip for a week. The hotel went above and beyond to make sure that I was comfortable and happy. Every person on the staff was amazing! Definitely good ole southern charm!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Stay

Posted Apr 23, 2014
The staff and hotel were excellent in all aspects. They went above and beyond giving us a ride in the courtesy shuttle and also making sure we had the complementary breakfast the next day before our departure
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dee from San Rafel, CA

Beautiful Hotel Right in Town!

Posted Apr 18, 2014
We were in town only overnight for UNC college tours. We checked in without any issues, were treated nicely and professionally. We asked for a few things for the room, and they were delivered right away. This is a high quality hotel with nice amenities. Great made-to-order breakfast in the morning. Walking distance to lovely restaurants in town. Quiet rooms, comfortable beds. Only complaint is the exercise room is small with little equipment, and poorly ventilated. Being right next to the pool, the humid and stale air stays in that room. Otherwise, we were VERY happy with this hotel.