Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom atlanta

Fantastic experience!

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Beautiful surroundings from the time you enter. Fantastic art collection, peaceful nature walk around the lake, vibrant bar with perfect live music; food art experience in the restaurant and zen like spa. Perfect weekend getaway!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful weekend

Posted Jan 27, 2015
It is a beautiful hotel. With an exceptinal staff. We loved the meals we had there and just loved the decor. We will go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

was such a nice retreat

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: The staff is so attentive and the facilities make you feel like you are somewhere far away!
We went for a quick couple night before Christmas and it was such a great getaway!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Carrboro, NC

Luxurious

Posted Sep 1, 2014
My fiancee and I had a romantic getaway at The Umstead, and could not have been more happy. I was initially a bit skeptical, given the location (I don't think of Cary as being a fun place to visit) and price (it is high), but it delivered. We loved our room and the turndown service. The spa was so lovely, and completely rejuvenated us. I really can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Raleighwood

Five stars are easily earned!

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Everything is perfect.
Location: There are a few dining options nearby and downtown Raleigh is only 15 minutes away. However, for short stays they have everything you need on site.
Outstanding facility and unparalleled service for the area. Heron's is an incredible dining experience and the bar area overlooking the pool and pond is amazing. Rooms are equipped with everything a traveler would need. The only criticism is the loud HVAC system heard in the rooms at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 4, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel with amazing scenery.

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Pros: Everyone was so nice! Felt very welcomed and in vacation layout I was here to just relax for a couple nights.
Cons: Thought it was close to perfect.
Location: Beautiful location. Restaurants just a drive away and nice and close to the airport as needed.
I was looking for a place to relax with an enjoyableace to stay to escape the busy days of everyday life and Umstead did that and more! Beautiful scenery, wonderful nature walk trails, gorgeous pool and jacuzzi to relax, and the people understand their job of making you feel like royalty. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Baltimore, Md.

The Umstead is definitely 5 stars

Posted Jun 20, 2011
The hotel and grounds are impeccable, and the staff really go out of the way to make you feel comfortable and special. I really liked the nice touches of having two towels neatly folded on each lounge chair by the pool and providing complimentary waters in a bucket of ice along with a water spray bottle to keep you cool. The lounge chairs are very comfortable and nicely padded. The pool is salt water and heated, and the setting so relaxing in its spot nestled next to the a forest of tall trees and a pretty lake that is surrounded by a walking/jogging trail for hotel guests. Guests are also allowed to use the amenities of the spa, and they are outstanding! Definitely a first class spa in every way. We would go back to this hotel again in a minute. It is truly world class.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Greenville, NC

A Lovely Hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2011
Wonderful staff, lovely grounds. Rooms are very upscale, modern and clean. Beds are extremely comfortable. Room service is wonderful. I love the Umstead and nothing in the Raleigh/Cary/Durham area can compare.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Chapel Hill, NC

Wonderful experience

Posted Nov 3, 2010
The Umstead Hotel, quite simply, lives up to its reputation as one of the best hotels in the US. Everything -- from check-in to the room to the spa service and restaurant -- was done with simple, quiet elegance, service and style. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet retreat from business travel or as a weekend getaway.