Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mi

Safe/Clean, basic accommodations

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Nothing fancy but basic needs met, could use some updating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

comfortable stay

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: convenience.
Cons: The breakfast is not that great (with three kinds of cereals, milk, yogurt, two kinds of pastry, coffee, etc), but at least it is convenient.
Location: Attend events at Duke.
This hotel is right next to the hospital, and about 5 minutes drive from Duke campus, which is convenient for us. This hotel is not fancy, but the bed is comfortable, the room is clean, and the staff is friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: THE STAFF WAS SO VERY NICE, MY ROOM WAS NICE ALSO.
Cons: The women that cleaned the rooms didn't speek English, it was hard to let them know if you needed or didn't need anything
Location: Location was perfect to visit hospital, there were resturants close by
My husband was having surgery at Duke Hospital, I stayed at University Inn. The staff was really nice to me in every way .The shuttle service really made it so nice I went o hospital twice a day, they took me over and picked me up every day. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Lawrenceville GA

University Inn at Duke Hospital, Durham, NC

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Bed and especially pillows; quiet room.
Cons: Variety for breakfast.
Location: Next to Duke Hospital and a VA hospital. Didn't look into nearby attractions.
1-night stay (Saturday). Stop over between Georgia and Maryland. This is an older hotel next to 2 hospitals (Duke and VA); very busy area. I stayed on 4th floor and heard no outside noise or fellow guests. Bed was very comfortable. Pillows were incredibly comfortable. Room temperature was well controlled. Would like to have had larger selection for breakfast. Only offered dry cereal, sweet rolls, muffins, yogurt. Bagels, toaster waffles and fresh fruit would have been nice. 24-hour coffee in the lobby was good. No dirty laundry bags were provided. But would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Eastern NC

Clean, inexpensive and very convenient to Duke

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Simply a matter of convenience staying overnight to avoid the 90 minute early morning commute for a gastric procedure at Duke University Medical Center (DUMC). The prep required for the procedure does not make for a pleasant commute.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

University Inn @ Duke

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Price
Cons: TVs, Wifi, windows.
Location: location was fine for purpose. nothing to do
TVs and windows need to be replaced. WIFI iffy at best. Hot water is by chance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by Katie, Hotel Management
We agree and have scheduled to replace both this year! We did experience WIFI issues in December after a Time Warner Cable transition and apologize that this was not working properly during your stay. Time Warner has promised that these issues have been resolved. We also apologize that you experienced any hot water issues, we were unaware of this issue and will check into it. Thank you so much for your valuable feedback!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Garyfrom Baltimore

Cheap Stay Near the Hospital

Posted Dec 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Cheapest place to stay. Nothing terrible about it, but nothing great either. There is bad coffee available in the lobby 24/7. The breakfast is great... if you like cold cereal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2015 by Katie, Hotel Management
We are happy to hear you think the hotel is a bargain but sad to hear you did not like the coffee. A lot of our guests tell us they appreciate the free Maxwell House coffee, but I also prefer a stronger Starbucks style. As the best value and only hotel adjacent to Duke to provide a free continental breakfast we do admit it is limited. The free continental breakfast has Cherrios, Mini Wheats, Granola, Yogurt, muffins, danish and juice. Thanks for taking the time to review the property and letting us know what you think!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ripped off when checking out

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Pros: Nothing, OK, maybe location.
Cons: attitude of staff, attitude of staff, attitude of staff!!!!
Location: Good for Duke hospital and research labs
I booked for 2 nights, on arrival due to the look of the hotel and the attitude of the staff i reduced to 1 night, i agreed my rate would go up due to reducing my stay. On checkout the bill was about $15 more than agreed and about about $15 more than the price on line,,,,, this is just taking my money,,,, because they could,,, never use these clowns again, there is another hotel right next door that is more acceptable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

不错

Posted Dec 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
不错,就在校园里。交通很方便。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by lorafrom High Point, NC

Good Experience

Posted Dec 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was very spacious and clean. I enjoyed my stay and had no issues. I did not partake of the breakfast but there was coffee and cereal available. All in all it was a good experience and I would stay there again.