Ratings based on 767 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Kate

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Overall friendliness of staff and other guests
Location: Went to visit our grandson at Duke University, which is in walking distance of the hotel. Also there is a nice mall about a 15-minute drive.
Staff was extremely accommodating and helpful. Very nice landscaping and golf course. We didn't get to use the pool but I heard it's very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Definitely a 5-star stay.

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Location: Especially nice if you have business (or pleasure) at Duke University, which is a 10-15 minute walk away.
Excellent from check-in to check-out. Everything was as advertised. The customer's comfort is clearly the priority.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Perfect! We got a junior suite which was perfect for us. A big room with separate bedroom. The staff were super nice and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2015 by WashingtonDukeInn, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club! We're so happy to hear that your junior suite was perfect for your visit and that you found our staff to be nice and helpful. We hope you will return to the Inn soon and often! Anna Marie Lawson Director of Special Services
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Horsham

Very nice hotel. Golf course...not so good.

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Hotel is very nice. Nice dining and bar area. Walked a few golf holes and this golf course was in really bad shape.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tampa

Great hotel within walking distance to Duke

Posted Apr 22, 2015
The hotel was everthing I expected. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was immaculate. The room was extremely comfortable. I can't wait to visit again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2015 by WashingtonDukeInn, Hotel Management
Dear Carol, How delightful it is to hear that your experience at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club lived up to your expectations! We’re so happy that you enjoyed your guest room and the service provided by our friendly and helpful staff. Thank you for your review. We hope you return soon and often! Anna Marie Lawson Director of Special Services
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Cons: Feather Pillows not comfortable
Location: Duke campus
Beautiful location and great service in hotel. Would highly recommend !
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2015 by WashingtonDukeInn, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful location and the service provided by our staff. While your overall stay was wonderful, please accept our apologies for the discomfort you experienced with the feather pillows. Your high recommendation of the Inn is greatly appreciated and we hope you will return soon! Anna Marie Lawson Director of Special Services
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Raleigh

very overpriced for what your getting

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Very disappointed in the quality here. the concierge does not work after 8pm and when I tried to schedule a spa appointment for some of my guests the front desk did not pass on the info to the concierge in the morning as they said they would. the water bottle in the room which most hotels at least offer you free bottle water a couple a day for your stay is not here....its 14$!!!! a bottle........ridiculous.....and the one that was in our room had already a cracked seal! not impressed at all not for what they charge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Upper class feel without the snobs:)

Posted Mar 20, 2015
This place was amazingly beautiful on the outside. We were greater by a friendly woman behind the desk who informed us that we'd been upgraded to a suite free of charge-score! The room was beautiful, clean, comfy bed. If I had to complain about anything, the bathroom was a little small but still very elegant and clean. Love this place and will stay again!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2015 by WashingtonDukeInn, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We are so happy to hear that you had such an amazing stay at the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club and it was our pleasure to delight you with a complimentary upgrade! We’re pleased to know that you found the property and guest rooms to be clean, comfortable and beautiful. Thank you for the positive review. Our team at the Inn very much looks forward to your next visit! Anna Marie Lawson Director of Special Services
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location if you're visiting Duke

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Older hotel. First floor is very nice. Rooms are a bit dated and showing some wear and tear. Service at Fairview for dinner was way below average. Food was ok. Recommend finding a restaurant in Raleigh/Durham for dinner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2015 by WashingtonDukeInn, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your most recent experience with us. We truly appreciate your candid feedback as it allows us to improve upon our offerings and better serve our guests. We are disappointed to hear that your service in the Fairview Dining Room did not meet your expectations. It is our goal to provide stellar service to all guests, and it appears that this did not occur during your visit. Please know we will share this with our restaurant management team so they may work with the staff to ensure lapses in service are prevented. We are happy to share that many of the Inn’s guest rooms have been and are currently undergoing updates and renovations. We do hope that you will return to experience the stunning enhancements. Anna Marie Lawson Director of Special Services
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom florida

Duke Basketball plus 5 star Hotel next door.

Posted Mar 10, 2015
We annually travel to Duke for a basketball game. Wonderful 5 star hotel with 5 min walk to Cameron. Great brunch in AM prior to departure. Unbeatable!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2015 by WashingtonDukeInn, Hotel Management
Dear Bob, Thank you for your five star review of the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay while visiting for a Duke basketball game. We’re even more delighted to hear that you enjoyed brunch in the Fairview Dining Room. We must agree with you, it is great! We look forward to your next stay at the Inn! Anna Marie Lawson Director of Special Services