Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great Quiet Hotel

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is far from the nearest city, which is about 30 minutes away. However, the place is very peaceful and quiet. Stein am Rhein is nearby. A nice little town along the Rhein river.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Vas from NZ

Good for a short stay

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good hotel overall, a bit out of the way from anything though. We don't have any complaints, just maybe that the hotel was a bit dated. Overall, good value for money and nice friendly service. FYI - the WiFi connection is only good by the reception, and you don't get a signal in the room
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by sean from Speichersdorf

great comfort

Posted Jul 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a great stay and it was a wonderful overnight stay as part of a European tour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from North East England

Great hotel for cyclists or those touring.

Posted Jun 25, 2013
Pros: The room, staff and food were all lovely.
Cons: We never did crack how to use the wi fi and would have been charged for more than 30 mins.
Location: Small, family run hotel in a Swiss village close to the German border.
We stopped just one night at the hotel which is in a small village and we found it tricky to find despite the SAT NAV. In fact we crossed back into Germany from Switzerland to the amusement of the border police who asked how long we had spent in Switzerland to receive the reply about half an hour. Once there, it is lovely with a car park in the garden and the chance to eat outside in good weather. Speaking no German, we struggled at first but soon the staff made us laugh by miming to make sure we had all we needed. The owners speak fluent English so there was no real problem. This hotel celebrates cycling and is an excellent base for those cycling around Switzerland. The walls feature cycling pictures and memorabilia. We did worry that being next to the church would be annoying particularly on the Sunday morning, but in fact it was no concern at all. The room was spacious and reached via very creaky stairs as this is a traditional Swiss style hotel. Best of all was the meal served by the family which used fresh local ingredients and was beautifully prepared. The local wine was delicious too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jonas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Friendly staff, comfortable rooms

Posted Jun 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Really nice place with friendly and helpful staff. Our room at the back of the hotel was great for a youngish family and was generally quiet. The church bells ring automatically but do stop between 10pm and 7am. Our 11 and 9 year olds loved the breakfasts in particular and the fact that they were welcomed in the bar in the evenings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by SF

Excellent family run hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
A traditional hotel that has been well kept up. The welcome is very warm. Meals are well prepared and served, with starter and main course menus based on German Swiss tradition, with Swiss wines available. We visited at the lowest of the low season, but we and the locals using the restaurant as a meeting point were treated very well. The owners are keen cyclists - hence the name - and would love to share stories about expeditions, but they don't discriminate against those who are less energetic. If you have a car (or bike), the hotel is well placed for visiting the picturesque towns of Stein-am-Rhein and Schaffhausen. We really enjoyed our short stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Trevor

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed our night at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and the food in the restaurant was lovely. The room was very clean and comfortable and the price was very reasonable.