Ratings based on 207 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, WA

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Cons: The bathroom needed hooks so you could hang your clothes when showering or changing. The lighting needs to be brighter.
Location: There was a quaint coffee shop and small grocery store within walking distance. The beach was within a short driving distance.
It is in a very peaceful setting. It is an easy walk into the small town. The pool was heated and the seating around the pool was comfortable. Bottled water was placed in the room as well as a robe and slippers. The restaurant was a little over priced, but sitting outside was pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chula Vista, CA

We didn't want to leave!

Posted Feb 17, 2015
The room was beautiful! Loved the claw footed tub and fireplace. Lots of comfy pillows. I wanted to bring the bath robe home. We are already planning our next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Lovers Getaway

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Spa, grounds, privacy, small town, wood-burning fireplace in room.
Location: Off the beaten track, 30 minutes north of San Diego. Walk the small town and enjoy the local cuisine.
Perfect romantic getaway! This hotel has it all. The spa was fantastic, the staff bent over backwards to fulfill my many requests, the restaurant was excellent, including the bar with live music. The grounds are serene and beautifully sculpted with gardens. Our cottage had a fireplace and a huge bathroom. Rancho Santa Fe is off the beaten track -- quiet and quaint, yet San Diego is easily accessible. I would go back in a heartbeat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom southern CA

Loved it!

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Definitely going back! Service was great. Staff was friendly. Perfect get away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Jerome, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review and I am very glad you loved your stay. We hope to see you back soon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Everything was lovely.My only complaint would be no drawers in our room. And the fact it was on the main road and the traffic noise was loud in the morning when sleeping. Otherwise a terrific stay. Tennis court across the street is in need of repair.You can play at Country Club but, this was free.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Jerome S., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am glad to read you thought everything was lovely, We have a few rooms that are near the main road, but the majority of our rooms are located inside our 23 acres. We are planning an upgrade of our tennis courts in the near future. We do hope you will come visit us again soon. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robertfrom Chapel Hill NC

Wonderful stay in paradise.

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels.com
Total class. The property is beautiful and the setting is unmatched. The staff was quite helpful and friendly. Very unique village setting makes this Inn one of the finest in the world for an exquisite getaway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2015 by Jerome, Hotel Management
Dear Robert, Thank you for your recent stay and the time you took to write this review. We have to agree with you that we think we are part of paradise. I am very proud of our staff here as they are all focused on an excellent customer experience. Please come back soon Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by louisfrom wayzata minnesota

disappointment

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
we were planning on staying next to the torrey pines golf course when i saw the listing for this property and was intrigued by the fact that the room came with a working fireplace. after a discussion with my partner we decided to select this property. since our decision to select this property was totally based on having an unit with a fireplace i called the property to confirm that our room would have a fireplace and was assured that there would be a fireplace. when we reached the property and were checking in we were informed that there were no rooms available with fireplaces. since it was around 4:30 our only choice was to accept the room without the fireplace. there was no adjustment in price but for the last two nights of a five night stay we were given a unit with a fireplace. it is a lovely place to stay if you have a unit with a fireplace but otherwise it is substantially over priced. because of our experience i would not book this property based on the verbal representation of the manager but would demand written confirmation at the time of booking. sad but true you can no longer rely on what a person tells you in person.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Beve Hills, CA

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Everything was excellent except that the TV IN our room did not work properly and the fireplace allowed smoke in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Billfrom San Diego

Not bad, nicely priced, mostly worth the visit.

Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a comfy, nice, neighborhood hotel in one of the most exclusive neighborhoods in the U.S. It's well located, the staff is friendly. Some of the features on the grounds are a little dated. But that's generally OK. The restaurant needs an upgrade. The food is OK, but the restaurant itself is dated. The wait staff is mostly OK, but they could upgrade there as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable in Every Way

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: History & Bungalows.
Cons: Sign up for dinner early.
Location: Town is great for walking through history.
Nice hotel. Historic community. Golf close by. Veg.