Ratings based on 214 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Gatos, CA

Wonderful historic hotel with a lot of charm

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Food, lively bar, spa, pool.
Cons: Old Air conditioners in rooms.
Location: Some excellent restaurants & antique shops right there in town. close to Del Mar Race Track and downtown Del Mar.
We have been here many times and always enjoy the amenities here including the food, service and rooms which are each unique in their own way. Breakfast is especially good. We were a bit too far away from the lobby this time (room 309) and had to drive to the restaurant and bar. It was walkable, but is uphill and involves stairs so I would not suggest it if you just had knee or hip surgery. The room was lovely but had an air conditioner in the window that was difficult to regulate and noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom H

Peaceful gorgeous ranch hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Gorgeous setting in rolling hills with equestrian activities surrounding. Exquisite peace on grounds. Ccottages with subtle elements of old glamour Hollywood. Close enough to San Diego and Carlsbad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by hanfenfrom 中国

挺好的度假地

Posted Feb 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
很好的环境 适合度假多住几天 周围还来不及多感受
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, WA

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Cons: The bathroom needed hooks so you could hang your clothes when showering or changing. The lighting needs to be brighter.
Location: There was a quaint coffee shop and small grocery store within walking distance. The beach was within a short driving distance.
It is in a very peaceful setting. It is an easy walk into the small town. The pool was heated and the seating around the pool was comfortable. Bottled water was placed in the room as well as a robe and slippers. The restaurant was a little over priced, but sitting outside was pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by victor

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chula Vista, CA

We didn't want to leave!

Posted Feb 17, 2015
The room was beautiful! Loved the claw footed tub and fireplace. Lots of comfy pillows. I wanted to bring the bath robe home. We are already planning our next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Lovers Getaway

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Spa, grounds, privacy, small town, wood-burning fireplace in room.
Location: Off the beaten track, 30 minutes north of San Diego. Walk the small town and enjoy the local cuisine.
Perfect romantic getaway! This hotel has it all. The spa was fantastic, the staff bent over backwards to fulfill my many requests, the restaurant was excellent, including the bar with live music. The grounds are serene and beautifully sculpted with gardens. Our cottage had a fireplace and a huge bathroom. Rancho Santa Fe is off the beaten track -- quiet and quaint, yet San Diego is easily accessible. I would go back in a heartbeat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 15, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom southern CA

Loved it!

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Definitely going back! Service was great. Staff was friendly. Perfect get away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Jerome, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review and I am very glad you loved your stay. We hope to see you back soon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Everything was lovely.My only complaint would be no drawers in our room. And the fact it was on the main road and the traffic noise was loud in the morning when sleeping. Otherwise a terrific stay. Tennis court across the street is in need of repair.You can play at Country Club but, this was free.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Jerome S., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am glad to read you thought everything was lovely, We have a few rooms that are near the main road, but the majority of our rooms are located inside our 23 acres. We are planning an upgrade of our tennis courts in the near future. We do hope you will come visit us again soon. Best regards,