Ratings based on 591 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Montana

Dated hotel in need of renovation

Posted Jan 4, 2015
This hotel was in a good location and has a decent pool area, however, it is in need of renovation. The room and bed were uncomfortable and obviously overused. The hotel staff were a little rude and seemed to be unconcerned about guests. The breakfast was poor and minimal. I usually find americinn hotels to be much better. I would not reccommend this hotel. There are many nicer hotels in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rapid City, SD

Great hotels

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: The beds and the airport shuttle.
I've stayed in 3 AmericInns now and I will continue to watch for them when I travel. Their beds are so comfortable and the rooms have just the right amount of extras. The free airport shuttle was a nice bonus and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in Nice Location but Missing Conveniences

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: It's very clean, well-maintained, and the fact it is so close to so many essentials like food and shopping is very nice.
Cons: A better hot drink selection. Hot chocolate or tea in addition to coffee - younger children can drink either of those when it is cold.
Location: Plenty of restaurants, Pirate's Cove Golf Adventure, Mount Rushmore, Ice Skating in downtown (winter)
I stayed here over Thanksgiving, and was mostly satisfied, but a little baffled. The rooms do not include a refrigerator or microwave. This is sort of a standard almost anywhere. There was no tea at all in the lobby or at breakfast, and no hot chocolate - you can't expect children to drink coffee when they are cold! I was a little disappointed by breakfast, as well. The selections were very small and bread-heavy. However, the pool and waterslide were absolutely wonderful, and open all day until midnight. Most hotels close these facilities down around 9pm, so I was able to go to dinner and then take a relaxing soak. The room was very clean, and the facility itself was nearly spotless. The location is right in the middle of downtown, so there are plenty of food places and shopping places such as Target and Walmart close by. If this hotel had a refrigerator, access to a microwave somewhere in the building, and hot drink options, I would say it was perfect. As it is, if you plan to eat out a lot, I would consider a different hotel for your leftovers.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Darylfrom Rapid city

I had stayed in better places

Posted Oct 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
We checked into our room and it had a foul mouse smell, we were then relocated to a second floor room which was very inconvenient. But it was quiet. I dont think I'll be staying there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom IL

Very nice.

Posted Oct 12, 2014
I have stayed at several hotels on my trip this was the best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rapid City, SD

Nice cute hotel

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Nice, quiet hotel.
Cons: Everything was fine, the way it is.
Location: It is centrally located, a lot of shopping is nearby.
I had a very good experience at this hotel, I needed a refrigerator to store my medication, so I was upgraded to a king suite at no extra cost!! Very nice hotel staff, and nice little hotel. I will stay there again, and I highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Shannonfrom Iowa

Comfy rooms. Fun slide.

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here on our way across country. We chose it because we have four kids and saw the huge water slide they have! That didn't disappoint. The slide doesn't actually go into the pool, but for us that was nice since our kids are younger. The pool itself was very warm. The negatives were sharing it with some other folks that were kinda wound up and the chlorine was very strong. All in all the pool and slide were great! The rooms were very comfortable. We were content with them. The breakfast was actually better than most since the eggs were scrambled and were fake and molded into circles. (Yuck!) When we checked in the guy at the front desk was kinda slow and wasn't great at small talk while doing the computer work. There ended up being a line behind us but he was friendly to us! We would def stay at this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
close to everything we wanted to do. super clean and the staff was very friendly. breakfast was all one needed