Ratings based on 320 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by SD girl

Location IS NOT everything!

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: That I am not staying there again!
Cons: 1. Working phones 2. Posting front desk number 3. Exterior lighting 4. No- smoking policy 5. Insulation in walls
Location: The Black Hills are a great area to visit with family. Outdoor opportunities a bound and there is no limit on things to do in the area!
I checked in early in the day, knowing I would not be back to the room until after 10 that night. When I got to the room, it was in a separate building from the main building, with all exterior doors to the rooms. To get to my room, I had to duck behind a dark stairwell, there were no exterior lights on that end of the building to allow any sense of safety (or ability to see how the card slide operated, I had to use the light from my phone). When I did get the door open, the smell of nasty smoke hung in the air. It was in the curtains and bedding, strong enough that I could smell it on my clothes after I left. It was well past my daughters bedtime and I made the choice to not switch rooms and just wanted to go to bed. Which I came to regret. All night long every time another room would run water or flush, the pipes would clang and make noise. When I checked out the staff really did not seem concerned by my complaints, stating that I should have called the desk to get a new room and they would let the cleaning staff know. The phone in the room did not work, and front desk number is not listed in the room. This is a convenient area of town, close to access to Mount Rushmore and several restaurants. Rapid City is not that big though. It takes 15 min. or less to cross town and the hotels closer to I-90 are newer and worth the 15 minute drive. Along the way, you pass all the restaurants you could want! This was definitely not worth the few dollars I saved
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Duane from Indiana

Good location

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Nice place for the expense, with excellent location. Wish their breakfast choice was better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short stay

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Was in town to visit a friend. The front desk clerk was ride when i called to inquire about early check in and also at time of arrival. No breakfast except a few muffins. Room was cleanand out was nice to not have to walk by a ton of rooms since ours was located away from main office.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent place for the price. Very affordable!

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: The shower has excellent water pressure. I like the individual sized coffee pot and the T.V. was nice as well.
Location: Very close to I-90 so there is easy access to Mt. Rushmore and the Black Hills.
The hotel was inexpensive and clean. The decor wasn't especially nice but it was very functional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Donna from N.D.

Posted Dec 19, 2013
Pros: Ease in finding and close location to medical facility where I had surgery.
Location: Many choices for eating places close by.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robbie from Moose Jaw, SK Canada

1st time to Rapid City

Posted Nov 13, 2013
Pros: Customer service
Cons: Updated hotel description on expedia website.
Location: Very close to all major attractions in and nearby Rapid City, SD. Restaurant in parking lot was excellent and it was recommended by the hotel staff.
The hotel staff were amazingly nice and engaging. The only issue we had was when we booked through expedia the hotel description stated there was a breakfast buffet and there was only coffee, fruit and muffins. One of the main reasons we booked was because of the warm, free buffet breakfast. It was very disappointing to hear especially since it clearly states on the website. Other than that it was a great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tamara from Arvada, CO

Can't beat this for the price!

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Location: Starbucks very close and a great breakfast place right in front of the hotel. Easy drive to the Mt. Rushmore Mall too.
The hotel was very clean and the beds were nice and comfortable. I was suprised because it looks like an older hotel, but is obviously run by a good staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Buffalo Roundup Vacation

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: Very clean and comfortable. Nice TV and mattresses.
Cons: Did not like outside stairs going to room. Problem with knees.
Location: Location to all tourist attractions and parks is convenient.
Motel was great for buffalo roundup weekend and we enjoy Rapid City Restaurants. Clean and convenient location.