Ratings based on 302 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Smithfield, UT

Hotel and waterpark

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was excellent. Scrambled eggs, sausage patty, toast, muffins, doughnuts, yogurt, juice, fruit, cereal, make your own waffles.
Cons: Include the waterpark as part of the hotel price. Or advertise prices better.
Location: Memorial Park has a beautiful walking path and hike up M hill. Dinosaur Park is close and free. Obviously Mt. Rushmore is only 45 minutes away.
We booked this hotel so the kids could go to the waterpark. I had researched online about it and got incorrect information on pricing. Even though we were paying for a room the cost was $14.95 per person to play in the water park. It did have a discount pass for $59.95 if you bought 5 tickets together. The funny thing about that is that the rooms usually only sleep 4. We arrived late enough in the afternoon that we didn't want to pay for the water park ticket since it was only valid for 1 day and the park closed at 8 on Sunday. So we decided to wait and pay for the next day and just play until checkout time. When we went to buy tickets the person at the front desk told us they had a pass that went from 4pm until 10 am the next day that we could have bought for $14.95! Why not have that advertised on the sign that listed the prices? The room was clean but not as big as I expected for the cost. This was my first stay in a Marriot hotel. There was a microwave and small fridge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2014 by Chris, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. The waterpark is a separate business from the hotel and we can only sell the passes as they indicate. Online it does state there is a surcharge for the use of the waterpark. When the front desk told you the times that the passes are valid for they were saying that the passes are good until the park closes that night and again the next morning from 8am to 10:30am in the summer time. We have two signs at the front desk that advertise that prices of the waterpark. I apologize that this was not advertised better for you and hope that you still enjoyed your stay. Thank you again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with water park for kids

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Kids felt water park was best part of trip. All staff very friendly, nice new rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L..from Tucson, AZ

Awesome for Sturgis Motorcycle Rally

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Great hotel to stay at during the rally. The Staff were courteous, friendly and up-beat all the time. Management provided breakfast, Internet services and site to wash our motorcycles, 2 hoses and towels. I would bring my family here for our next visit to Rapid City, SD.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Benkelman NE

Nice hotel but the water park costs!

Posted Aug 9, 2014
The hotel is nice and the breakfast is good. When I booked this it didn't say anything about guest would have to pay to use the pool and waterpark. You can use the hot tub with an arm band but if you want to swim its $14.95 a person.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

The water park was nice

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The water park.
Cons: They need to overhaul the rooms. They are cheap...bedding, decorating, bathrooms, etc. are old and worn. Bathroom supplies are at the bare minimum, to
Location: Mt. Rushmore, Bear Country USA, Crazy Horse Memorial.
When we checked into our room it had a terrible smell. The air conditioning unit had leaked on the floor and the carpet was wet all around it and at the foot of the bed. I went to the desk and requested another room. They apologized and put us in another room. It didn't have wet carpet but this room didn't smell much better. It had a mildew/mold odor. We stayed anyway but I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2014 by Chris, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I apologize that there was a smell in your room due to a faulty A/C unit. It has been fixed and the smell has been neutralized. I again apologize for this experience had hope that you will come see us once again so that we can show you that this is not a normal thing here at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Rapid City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Billings, Montana

Very nice hotel.

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Rooms had micro waves as well as refrigerators.
Cons: Lower the prices of the candy bars in the lobby. Almost $6.00 is absurd. The breakfast was great, but I would suggest adding bacon .
Location: Location is a little remote. Not much to do nearby.
Very clean and nice. Safes in the rooms would be nice. The candy bars, priced at almost $6.00 each in the lobby were ridiculous. Those prices should be lowered. Other that, the stay was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Great hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Just a wool blanket.
Location: For us the location was perfect.
We liked the location, cleanliness and service. The breakfast was very good and the servers kept the food flowing. The TV was great and we enjoyed watching The Open every day. For kids the water feature had to be a great asset. On thing we would have enjoyed is a wool blanket to supplement the other bedding because we did get cold at night (we are from AZ). But, perhaps you have it and just have to ask. We will definitely stay there on our next visit to Rapid City.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NV

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Location: GREAT LOCATION, THERE IS NOT A LOT TO DO BESIDE SITE SEEING.
GETTING OUT OF DENVER WAT A TRIP. I WILL NEVER GO THIS ROUT AGAIN., TO MANY KIDS IN THE HOTEL RUNNING WILD LOTS OF NOISE.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2014 by Chris, Hotel Management
Thank you taking the time to write this review. We try our very best to keep everyone from running and disturbing other guests. With the excitement that the waterpark brings it does make it difficult at times. I do apologize that we were not able to succeed in this while you were here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

Very Pleased

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Location: Close to restaurants, shopping, and everything the Mt. Rushmore area has to offer.
Desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean. Water park adjoins hotel, so many families were staying here. Expected the noise level to be high with all of the small children, but it was very quiet. All in all, we had a great stay and would definitely go back. Grandchildren had a wonderful time at the water park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bismarck ND

Nice hotel with water park attached.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Spacious rooms, water park, able to eat breakfast before leaving hotel and venturing out. Coffee in lobby!
Cons: Cleanliness of rooms including during visitor stays.
Location: Mount Rushmore; Rushmore caves; Story book island; Zipline; MDonalds petting zoo and muh more
Water park was a hit with my kids. Breakfast is good. Rooms are spacious. The rooms could use better cleaning. I would suggest to the maids to look under the bed to make sure all junk from prior visitors is picked up. Otherwise staff was friendly. Microwave and fridge is handy when you have kids.