Ratings based on 911 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Good location for food and a few shops.

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Speed of check in and check out was great.
Cons: Cheers sport bar was friendly with a happy hour 6-7pm
Location: Good choice of restaurants with sit down dining as well as fast food. 15 mins from the airport
24 hr restaurant was not great, but there was a good selection a short walk away. Our early departure for the airport required ordering a taxi, but the receptionist organized it very willingly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodstock, NY

Nice hotel - convenient location

Posted Sep 13, 2014
This hotel is quite nice, very convenient and inexpensive. We were actually pleasant surprised as we recently adopted a rulers not going to hotels that are less than $100/night (based on prior BAD experiences). The rooms are very large and clean. Beds and sheets are comfortable. Only complaint and this is based on personal preference, is that the pillows couldn't get flat enough. Staff friendly and helpful. Great find.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Jordan, MI

Nice, large rooms.

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: There was a pool and hot tub and a slide. They had internet service and they are connected to Perkins Restaurant. Good location close to mall.
Cons: Treated like criminals by staff. Told us they'd charge $20 if we smoked, had pets or stole towels. Said they'd credit the $20 back after we check out.
Location: A lot of stores and restaurants nearby. Near the mall.
Very nice rooms, and nice d├ęcor. They didn't have a bright light to read by in the hotel though. Every light was so dim.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Not great

Posted Sep 5, 2014
The only thing my family and I liked about this hotel is the waterslide at the pool. The staff was unfriendly when we checked in and did not know anything about the Perkins restaurant attated to the hotel. I asked the staff if they knew if Perkins offers a discount on breakfast and they did not know. They told me to go ask Perkins. You'd think if there is an attached restaurant to a hotel the hotel staff might know something about it, but I guess they don't at the Grand Gateway. I paid the same price at a microtel hotel two weeks earlier and they offered a decent free breakfast, they had a fridge In our room, and the pool was open until midnight. At the grand gateway they do not offer a free breakfast, I did not have a fridge in my room, and the pool closes at 10:00pm. The rooms were ok, and clean, but I'd much rather find a different hotel with nicer, more knowledgable staff , and with a convenient free breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My Rushmore

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Yuck. Old, a/c archaic and ineffective. Supplies (bottled water) non existent. Outdated Terrible noise control. Yuck.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PV, MX

Very nice place

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: room was great
Cons: customer service at check in
Location: Mt. Rushmore.......does anything else need to be said.
Ladies at front desk didn't seem to be interested in customer service.........but room was excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Nice place close to the highway.

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Location, price, and was quiet at the time.
Cons: As above, the TV, bath soap, faster elevator.
Location: Rapid City is easy to get around in if you are vacationing, which I was. The hotel is right next to the interstate. Other places easy to find.
Was only there two nights. Elevator is a bit slow so I used the stairs mostly. It would be nice if they would put a familiar brand of deodorant soap in the bathroom. Only one bar of some strange soap was there along with some kind of skin care soap. TV is a bit outdated, most hotels have flat screens now but I wasn't there to watch TV. Otherwise it was quiet, no loud people of any age running around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from regina sask

Decent hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2014
The rooms were huge and the beds were spacious and comfy. Interior seemed a little dated and dark but it was ok.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not very impressed

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Intially we were given a room that already had other people in it! The carpet was dirty and an eye soar. The manager on duty was cold and did not even apologize with the initial mix up
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Met my expectations.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
My husband, my 2 grandchildren had a comfortable stay at the Grand Gateway Hotel while visiting Mt. Rushmore.