Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Location was good.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Nice hotel with a good location. Needs some work done on sound reduction and keeping the smoking rooms to a restricted area. Smoke smell in the non-smoking rooms was a little strong.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Good breakfast - especially enjoyed eating on the patio.
Cons: provide extra towels & washcloths.
Location: our destination was Mt. Rushmore - it was a nice drive from the hotel.
Very happy with the total experience...rating of pleasing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from f

Nice hotel on Snake River

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Clean comfortable beds, easy walk to great restaurant (jakers) and quiet balcony on Snake river.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great vacation location

Posted Jun 14, 2014
This was a great hotel with a reasonable price. its right off the main highway for direct shot too all the sites in the black hills. Highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay!

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and they made it very easy to have a dog along.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: The hotel was conveniently located for going up to Mount Rushmore or going into downtown Rapid City. It was very easy to find.
My experience at this hotel was wonderful. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the breakfast was what you would expect from a free breakfast (bagels, cereal, eggs, sausage, yogurt, etc.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Always a Great

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Holiday Inn Express is always great we have tried multiple hotels but have found Holiday Inn Express the best for comfort and cleanliness. THANK YOU for the great stay!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Renae from Rapid City SD

easy access

Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
The moment walked in realized how nice the stay would be. Very clean nice room. Had a very good night's sleep. Great breakfast buffet. Great staff as well. Very impressed and will definetly return. Thank You!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Thomas

perfect for my situation

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: The proximity to the hospital was a real plus, and if I have further treatment, I expect to be once again staying at this place.
Cons: I would have liked darkening shades.
Location: My hospital visit was finalized with my not being able to drive for 24 hours, so this place was perfect for me. I am not a tourist to Rapid City.
I was pleasantly pleased with my first stay in this Holiday Inn Express.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by wyogirl1961

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
The first night I checked in, they put me in a smoking room. I didn't even know hotels were still allowed to have smoking rooms. When I asked about it, they said the owner smokes, so they have a few rooms that are smoking. The smell was so bad, it was like someone had just been smoking in the room when I entered. I asked the front desk for a new room and was told they had none. I asked them to spray the room - they said they would and leave a can of freshener - never happened. All I could smell the whole night was smoke - Yuk! The next day when I asked them again to move me, the clerk said, "Let me check your reservation. Oh, you booked an "overflow" room through a notable website (guess I can't mention the name), but she did proceed to move me. Not sure what booking an "overflow" room has to do with anything. I booked a room on a notable website and paid the offered price. Not sure why I should be treated any different than any other guest. I guess I will take my business elsewhere next time around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com