Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Cheap

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Location in town was great.
Cons: Cleanliness of entire room: sheets, carpets, bed was uncomfortable, and control bug situation
Location: Close to shopping mall, and restaurants
Staff was very friendly and helpful but the room was absolutely horrible. Although it was cheap I've stayed in cheap hotels and have had cleaner rooms. There were black stains on the sheets, and when I pulled the top blanket off there was a bug in the sheets. We used our own sheets and blankets and had to buy air freshener because we didn't trust the blankets and sheets. Tried turning the AC on but it smelled like hair was burning. Crickets were in our room some how (we killed 3) after hearing them all the first night (stayed 2 nights). There were also many flies and moths in the room. Didn't realize the window wasn't locked until the second day we were there. The hotel can't control it but there were many sketchy characters around the hotel. Pictures online are deceiving. I didn't like to walk barefoot on the floors. Shower was decent. Would not suggest this hotel at all, wish we had spent the few extra bucks to have a cleaner room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

Average Motel

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: It was the only one avaliable under $200 for the 1 night we were there due to us turning up during Sturgis week - don't do it!
Cons: Its a motel...
Location: On main street. Mt. Rushmore is 10 miles away. Coldwar missile Silo is about 75 - worth going to (get there early for the tour - pre 8am) and Badlands
Nothing special about the place. Checked in, parked outside the room. Beds where comfy with air con, a fridge and wifi. Same prices as most others.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to Sturgis.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: It was available during the Sturgis rally. Kept me dry during the heavy rain storms.
Cons: Needs to be updated.
Over priced for the room. Needs a refrigerator and microwave.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Colorado

M-Star Rapid City

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Air conditioner, clean mini fridge, and no signs of bed bugs.
Cons: pull out the red carpet with stains, upgrade hand held shower head, flat screen television
Location: Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Harney Peak, amusement park and shopping.
I can't say it was the best place I've ever stayed at but it certainly wasn't the worst. M-Star was able to meet our needs adequately and we had clean towels, air conditioner, hot running water and a television. The beds were fine and we slept through the night without much tossing or turning. I wouldn't walk barefoot on the carpet but for the price the place was fine and I'd go back again in future travels. There was also a mini fridge and microwave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Regina, SK.

Older motel but nice and clean.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: It was clean and well kept.
Cons: It could probably use some renovations.
Location: I went for the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally so Sturgis is about a 25 minute drive. Mount Rushmore is very close, as is Deadwood. All great places to visit
First off, I was an hour late arriving to the motel during Sturgis week and did not know the motel closed at midnight. The staff waited around patiently for me to arrive, which was fantastic. The motel is older but the room my friend and I stayed in was clean and well kept. Comfortable and clean beds.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for the price during rally

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Wasn't bad for the price during the rally. Prices are inflated considerably during the rally normally and we paid a great price. Through Expedia. If not for the price we definitely would have stayed elsewhere. There is plenty of parking, beds were comfortable , the rooms were pretty clean except for the carpets that need replaced. and AC worked great. There is no longer a pool since they filled it in. We pretty much knew not to expect much with the price we paid, so we were prepared for worse. Overall, it was decent, but definitely not a place I would typically stay had we not got such a deal.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Very much a budget property

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Desk clerks and housekeeping were very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean. The property itself is very tired and shows "duct tape" maintenance throughout. The AC was way too loud to even consider leaving on when we were in the room and the bathroom was the smallest I've EVER found in a motel. Beds were OK. All in all I wish I'd paid double to stay somewhere nicer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sioux falls

Cheap and clean

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Good points: cheap, clean, good location. Bad: noisy and spotty wifi.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

older, quiet motel

Posted Jul 8, 2014
about right for the price. Clean but rooms have seen some use. Nice surprise was microwave and frig in room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

New upgrades make for a nice stay

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Our room had new carpet, new furniture, a comfy king size bed, mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. It was a great deal at $59/night. All linens were new and soft too. I'd recommend this place for sure.