Ratings based on 948 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Good location. Room was horrible. No a/c. Room was hot. Front desk couldn't do anything about it. Made for a miserable night. There was a dirty diaper under the bed. Place seemed old and outdated. Not impressed and won't stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Dakota

Pool was perfect for my grandchildren

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Swimming Pool
Cons: Continential Breakfast could be brought back instead of charging.
Location: Close to shopping
Hotel room was not cleaned on two out of the four nights we stayed. We were not compensated at all!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2015 by Lana G., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We are happy to see that you, and your grandchildren, enjoyed our amenities. The pool is the jewel of the hotel, and we have received many compliments on it. We do apologize for the mistake in housekeeping, and have taken steps to ensure that will not happen again. Thank you once more for leaving a review, and we hope if you are in the area again, you will give us another chance to impress you. Have a fantastic day!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Nebraska

Did not like this place at all

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Main thing was the bed is like sleeping on a board and the pillows were horrible too. People running around all night screaming, drinking and slamming doors. Room was fair but hallway was filthy
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Lana G., Hotel Management
Jean, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate not only your business, but your feedback so that we can provide our guests with the very best service possible. We are sorry to see the bed did not meet your expectations, but are glad that the room was otherwise comfortable for you. We have security staff both on call and on site to handle any situations which may arise. Had we been informed of the situation, we would have gladly sent them to resolve the problem. Thank you once more for leaving a review. We hope if you return to the area that you give us another chance to impress you. Have a wonderful day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older motel

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Was made to stay in annex even though they had vacant rooms in the main building. 7 degrees outside and had to walk outside to get to pool.Employees at front desk could have cared less
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2015 by Lana, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're sorry the location of your room was not up to your standards. I am certain if you had requested to upgrade to a poolside room, if we had one available, we would have taken care of that transaction immediately. As it is, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience, and thank you for your stay. We hope if you are in the area again, you will give us the chance to impress you.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Not Pleased

Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room smelled of stale cigeratte smoke although it was a NON-SMOKING room. We found old moldy food pushed under the chair and beds, at night the door had a draft so cold air came in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2015 by Kathy, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate all comments. We apologize the room was not up to standards. We take great pride in ensuring our guests have a clean, comfortable room. Had we known about the cleanliness issue, we would have immediately cleaned the room to your satisfaction, or moved you to another room. Again, we sincerely apologize for any discomfort or dissatisfaction, and thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave a review. Have a wonderful day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Victorfrom Henderson, NV

Could use a renovation but still comfy.

Posted Dec 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comfort, with a pool. Nice pool but the area where the hotel is located could be better. Rooms were okay even if it is an older structure that could use an update. Slept very well and the room was clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2015 by Kathy, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a four star review, Victor! We appreciate the compliment on the pool--it has gotten many positive comments. I am sorry our location was found lacking--we are close to the interstate, and near many restaurants and shopping centers which many of our guests find convenient. You are correct; the building is older, but we are due to start renovations during the new year. Some of the renovations have already begun, and we have received many compliments on the new look of the building. We are glad we were able to accommodate you, and hope that when you pass our way again, you will choose to stay with us. Thank you again for the excellent review and have a wonderful day!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Gross!!!!

Posted Nov 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Would never stay here again. The bathroom was very unclean and carpets were stained.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2015 by Kathy, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We sincerely apologize that the room was not up to standards. We do our very best to keep all of our rooms fresh and clean for the comfort of our guests. Your business is very important to us, and we hope that you will extend us the chance to impress you the next time you are in Rapid City. Once again, thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and have a wonderful day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by PATRICIAfrom denver

will return next time we visit

Posted Nov 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed for the pool....we were not disappointed. Pool was beautiful..loved the different levels of water for different aged kiddos! Loved that the pool was open and big...and not a stuffy room! Only downfall is going outside to access pool in cool weather...unless you upgrade to pool view room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2015 by Kathy, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, Patricia! We are so happy that you enjoyed our wonderful pool area. It's the crown jewel of the hotel, one of the largest pools in Rapid City, and a feature on which we receive many compliments. We look forward to the opportunity to earn that last gold star on your next trip to the beautiful Black Hills. Thank you once more for leaving your review, and have a fantastic day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Working man in Rapid City.

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed two weeks while working in Rapid City. Friendly staff; comfortable room; very reasonably priced for working person. Will stay again if in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2015 by Kathy, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We're glad to see that you got to experience our great customer service. We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed our clean, comfortable rooms. Thank you for the fantastic compliment of wanting to stay with us again if you return to the area. Once more, thank you for the kind words and have a wonderful day!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Dissapointment

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was clean, however the blankets were thin and itchy. Felt very old as though they have been washed a thousand times. One night the heat would not turn on. We called the front desk and they said it was due to the hotel being at full capacity. For some reason I guess at full capacity they do not have enough heat to go around. They had a worker bring as a space heater, which did not even work or turn on! We went down to the pool for the late night "adult swim" and the pool was disgusting. Hair, toys, food, and random objects were all sunken to the bottom. The pool and hot tub had an oily glisten to the water from various body products. The most awkward part was that the pool was less than 15 feet from the front desk, in the same room. The worst part was the images I saw online are fake! My hotel room looked nothing like the images I saw. Idk if the pictures on the website are part of some upcoming renovation plan, but my hotel room looked like it came straight out of 1995, aside from the flat screen. At about $85 a night I was not expecting something 4 star, however the images I saw online, as well as the lack of common courtesy such as HEATING inside the hotel room really blew my tolerance for this hotel. If i ever return to rapid city, I deffinetely will NOT be staying at this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2015 by Kathy, Hotel Management
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our gests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will cosnider staying with us again.