Ratings based on 428 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Bloomington, MN

Nice hotel convenient to business downtown

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: great lobby, good guest service.
Cons: Shower and bath water pressure!
Location: Starbucks, convenient to businesses within walking distance.
I like the location and ambiance of this hotel. The room is a bit small, but charming. My room did not have a good shower or bath (water pressure was lacking), and the room temperature was a bit chilly. Other than that, would definitely stay again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

The curse of the hairs in the bathroom...

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Cleanliness.
Location: great location for restaurants and shops!
My customer recommended that I stay at the Alex Johnson hotel during my business trip to Rapid City. The location is great and easy to walk to local restaurants and shops! The parking is not the most convenient, as you can park at the parking deck about a block from the hotel at no charge. Luckily each time I returned to the hotel, I was able to street park in front (ok to do so as long as it is after 6 and you move your car before 9 a.m.) I had read some reviews about people finding a dirty bathroom with hairs. I TOO had this issue with dark brown hair around the sink, floor, and tub and one VERY long hair hanging from one of the towels. Additionally, there was a dirty washcloth on the floor of the bathroom and it appears that someone used a Kleenex and put it in the toilet and didn't flush. The front desk staff was very nice. The valet on duty were not accommodating. I struggled with bags and not one time did someone from the staff offer to help. Maybe they don't offer this service, but at least to open a door (valet)...that would be nice. Overall, I found the room to be comfortable. The TV remote would not let me scroll channels. I had to go back to the menu each time I wanted to change the channel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SD

Quirky Charm

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Cons: bathroom finishes were rough and obviously retrofitted.
Location: Great central downtown location.
Older historic hotel - lots of fun nostalgia and character.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rural SD

Historic

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Great location downtown Rapid City within walking distance to civic center, food, and entertainment. Room was compact and somewhat cramped, but it's an old, historic hotel. Despite the size of the room, it was updated to be very modern.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bristol, Va.

Wondeful!

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: None
Staff was great. Food delicious. Location convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Karafrom Gillette

Perfect location for date night

Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels.com
Perfect for date night b/c it is directly across the street from the theatre. We loved the sky bar! The bartender was so nice and took our picture in the freezing cold for us! The fireplace downstairs was comforting especially with chubby chipmunk chocolate and starbucks right there. Love the downtown location b/c there is so much to do right there with the town square and shopping!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: The architecture is beautiful.
Cons: The room was hard to heat up and the window looking out on art alley was really really dirty
On check I was surprised at all the fees and taxes. My room was reasonable, but the fees and taxes added another 35% to the bill. The vertex was nice and there is a Starbucks right off the lobby. Tally's across the street has good breakfast and downtown is right around the corner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Comfortable stay, great staff, good value.

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
This was not our first stay at the Hotel Alex Johnson. It is a place we visit several times per year, as we are always comfortable and well taken care of there. On this particular incident, during the Christmas/New Year Holiday week, we were awakened at 2:30am by a very loud party in the room adjacent ours. This can happen at any hotel, of course, but what was impressive was how the hotel staff handled it. "Josh" answered my call promptly and immediately addressed the partiers. After a short time when they hadn't yet settled down, he returned and offered them an alternate place to party, and all returned to normal. I was grateful that he handled it so well and so quickly. The only down side to this hotel is the lack of on-site parking. However, there is a garage available at no charge and street parking is free overnight. This is a fair trade for being located in the middle of downtown and being able to walk to all the restaurants, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I sincerely enjoyed my stay here.

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Being that this was the month of December, this stay was enjoyable. During the evening, I could look out my window and see an extremely large Christmas tree, ice skaters and a lot of Christmas lights. When I opened my window, I could hear the Christmas music. It was spectacular. :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Barbarafrom Denver

Home for Christmas

Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was fun to stay in a historical hotel and my only disappointment was the poor quality of the workmanship of the room remodel.