Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Resort on the beach

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The number of television channels and provision of WIFI
My Wife and I spent 8 nights here. The pool side unit is spacious with a good bathroom and kitchenette. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is very basic, however there is plenty to eat. The only negative is the noise which comes through to the unit from the unit above. We will return to this place. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie from New Zealand

Friendly and Enjoyable Stay

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: The people were friendly and helpful.
Location: The Highland Paradise Cultural evening is a definite. Captain Tama's Lagoon Cruise was a hoot. The Nu Bar and Bistro wasn't that great.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. Full of smiles. The fresh fruit at breakfast was awesome and a great array of local tropical fruits. Coffee was fabulous - nice blend - Paul's own mix :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location on beach

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: The location and particularly our beachside studio located on the white sands.
Cons: Restaurant and bar opening times. Breakfasts same every morning and fruit sometimes ran out. Some tinned fruit. Poor BBQ one evening.
Location: Good location for beach and lazing about but not much to do nearby. Need scooter or car or rely on the bus.
Nice clean, comfortable and roomy studio. Good shower. Friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Finnvalley from Perth

Excellant Resort and friendly staff!

Posted Jan 19, 2014
We loved our stay at the Castaway Resort New Year 2013/14. The Beach front studio was beautiful, clean and comfortable with a lovely view of the beach from our patio. The beach bar was great to sit back, relax and watch the sunsets. The restaurant food was delicious so we ate here three nights, great pasta and beautiful fresh seafood platers. A definite bonus to staying in a smaller resort was getting to know the people at Castaway. The Staff are wonderful, really friendly and helpful. Michelle and Liz in Reception gave us great advise on what to do around the island, where to eat, snorkel and trek. Paul and the restaurant/bar staff where friendly and helped make our trip one to remember. We will definitely return to the castaway resort and will recommend it to our family and friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rachel from Sydney

Great place on the beach with a great beach bar

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Pros: The beach bar. The food they do there especially the sunday bbq. Even the pool is nice. Also they have one of the best spots for snorkelling!
Location: Location is great. Its in a great place for snorkelling. Over the road is a Chinese and not far is a place you can hire a scooter.
Michelle and Paul the owners were excellent. So helpful in every way and so nice and friendly. My partner and I stayed here for 8 days and had the best time! I can't recommend this place enough. There is a great beach bar at the resort that do amazing cocktails. Its right on the beach and facing west so you can watch the sunset from the bar. It's beautiful. They have such a great place for snorkelling right on their door step. And the resort provide your with your beach towels, snorkel gear, flippers and have a kayak which you can take out on the lagoon when you like.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Relaxing resort

Posted Jan 13, 2014
As mentioned in other reviews the owners take a real hands on approach and it really shows, the staff are attentive and very friendly in a great location. The bar is a really cool place to hang out, and you will get to see the same faces a few days running which is nice if you are a single traveller. There are a total of 12 rooms, so the whole resort has a certain sense of peace and calm, if you are looking for some hustle and bustle or lively nightlife then probably not the place for you. If I was going to be critical I would say that the opening and closing time of the bar and restaurant are a little on the restrictive side (bar from 3 to 9 and restaurant from 6 to half eight) but this is pretty minor. I was catching an afternoon flight (transfer at 3pm) and was not looking forward to spending a day in the heat waiting around with my luggage, I asked at the front desk and Michelle said that seeing that the next guests weren't moving in until 4 I could hang around in the room, and that they would ask the housekeeper to come in between these two times to clean, this was amazingly kind, other resorts would have just expelled me and let me worry out what to do myself.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roger from Washington, DC

Castaway Resort was amazing

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: The staff was the best part. Also it was friendly, cozy and had good facilities for the price.
Cons: Our double bed was two twins combined and didn't make sleeping with a partner the most comfortable.
Location: Location was great. Restaurant & bar onsite and short walk to Shipwreck Beach Bar. Bus stop right outside plus grocery and Chinese across the street.
Paul and Michelle are great owners and all of the staff is really friendly. The beach is the perfect location to watch sunsets and the deck is also great for coming out late at night to watch the stars. We had a fabulous stay and would definitely come back. Breakfast being included is a plus with lots of fresh fruit and it was a very comfortable place to stay complete with a bus stop right outside for the circle island bus in both directions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sheila from auckland

great relaxing holiday

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: Superb view from beachfront studio. Staff were all very helpful. Quiet site with local bus for sightseeing/ visiting. Well equipped kitchen.
Location: Local bus meant whole island was accessible. 10-15 minutes to main town or Muri beach. Great snorkelling at resort.
enjoyed the position of this resort. Studio right on the beach with great view. excellent tropical fish viewing in front of studio. snorkelling gear provided. Bus stop outside resort. Dairy just over the road. Resort kept very clean and tidy. staff all very helpful. Ideal for a quiet relaxing holiday.