Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KingKindley from New Zealand

Great Resort

Posted Nov 25, 2013
I didnt spend a great deal of time at the resort but the room was nice and the staff were friendly. The pool area and deck was very nice. I was very pleased with this resort for the price I paid and would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2013
2 out of 5
by Sue from New Zealand

Lovely setting but in need of a lot of upgrading

Posted Nov 21, 2013
Pros: The setting was lovely.
Cons: A total upgrade in all areas of the hotel. It has great potential if only they would spend some money on it I am sure the would reap the benefits in
Location: Location was great - not alot to do but we went for a relaxing holiday so were not looking for a lot to do.
This was our second stay at Club Raro - the whole complex has deteriorated since our last stay (November 2012) It is such a shame as it could be made into a lovely place to stay. We visit Rarotonga every year and next year we will not stay there we will find alternative accommodation due to our overall experience. Staff not at all friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jan from Anna Bay NSW Australia

Central location relaxed atmosphere

Posted Nov 16, 2013
The staff were really helpful and friendly going out of their way to meet travellers needs. Recommending places of interest and offering assistance with booking of tours and local knowledge was a daily occurrence. The resort was walking distance to town but we used mopeds which the hotel was also able to assist with especially when my friend and her moped met the bushes... We would definately stay again at club raro and enjoy the relaxed and friendly service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bobby from New Zealand

Club Raro

Posted Oct 30, 2013
Pros: Is on the beach and is relaxing !
Cons: Smile from staff
Location: The beaches are amazing worm and clean wather the sun is perfect. Cultural show was exellent i love the island i think is the perfect place.
I had an exellent experiance they clean my room every day. Quiet perfect for relaxing. Thank you for introducing me to the most beautiful place i been so far.
1 out of 5
by Kerry from New Zealand

Would NOT Recommend

Posted Oct 19, 2013
Pros: Garden and pool area is nice
Cons: Service, room up grade.
Location: Close to town and a couple of good restaurants.
We stayed here the end of September 2013. This was my partners first overseas trip. Dont waste your money and time at club raro. Air conditioning was so noisy you can not sleep with it on and it was so hot in the room Ceiling fan was loose and noisy so couldn't use that at night either. The bed was too hard and pillows thin as paper. TV in the receiption around was opposite our room and the night staff had it up loud so they can hear it. Advertise they have snorkel gear and sccoters avaialble and there was none avaialble. They had no record of us getting breakfast with our book in, lucky we had our expedia print out with us. Breakfast was from 7am by 9am there was next to nothing left.
1 out of 5
by MSP from New Zealand

What a shocker!

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: Nice sea view. Staff are easy-going and generally good-humoured.
Cons: Customer service and the food/restaurant. The whole place is rather tired and tatty.
Location: The bus ride into town is only 5-10 minutes and lovely sandy Muri beach and snorkelling venues are only about 10 minutes bus ride away.
I was put into an inferior room to the one I had paid for, it had mould in the shower and a previous occupant's hair-filled comb in the closet. The food in the restaurant is pricey and awful (the breakfast was a real rip-off) and staff often said they would attend to something and simply never did. Because of the dreadful food, hardly anybody eats there and so the place is dead in the evenings. The setting is fine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jacob from Dunedin, NZ

Better Than I expected

Posted Oct 6, 2013
Pros: Grounds, Location, Rooms
Cons: Staff Attitude, Bar Operation
Location: Close to town
I knew we were staying at a budget resort and expected a fairly average experience however was impressed with the room, views and tidiness of the resort. Breakfast was excellent. Some of the staff were a little lazy and the bar operation is poorly run however most of them were friendly. The gardens are immaculate and grounds are kept well. Nice and close to town! and with a nice wee pool! Thanks Club Raro
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Tanika from Auckland

Nothing like the photos on the website

Posted Oct 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
We arrived at the hotel just after 1am, very excited to be on holiday! The guy on reception was uninterested, looked tired and like he didn't want to be there. He showed us to our room, which looked nothing like the photos. There was mold on the roof, the duvet covers were really old & also had mold stains on them...we decided to make a hot drink, the jug cord was about 5 inches to short for the only usable plug, we had to stack books up for the jug to sit on. The shower had good pressure! The slogan for club Raro is "arrive as a guest leave as a friend" whoever made up this slogan should tell the staff as I think they missed the memo on that one & were unfriendly and all seemed like they couldn't be bothered. Club Raro is in a good location and it's close to town but it is really really run down & needs a major revamp. We really liked the swim up bar and surrounding pool area, but staff behind the bar weren't so friendly, but this didn't stop us having a great holiday! I wouldn't recommend to friends and sadly wouldn't go back.