Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Clean, close to other resorts and restaurants.
Cons: I think the beach furniture needs to be replaced, cushions were mouldy and dirty. The restaurant needs to be given a bit of a lift in terms of food.
Location: On the beach, other restaurants near by.
Arrival was not as expected, with the nightshift guy not showing much excitement. Our booking appeared lost, but was not lost just apparently confusing. Room was a garden villa, clean and had all the comforts we are looking for in a room. The room was right next to the Oceans Restaurant and stage, so this concerned us, however first night was a wedding, followed by other entertainment during the week, we were not disturbed at all very quiet.
3 out of 5
by Dianne from Sydney

Hotel stay for a friends wedding

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: location and unit were pleasant but overpriced.
Cons: food!!! it was very basic and not good value. No fruit or fresh fish on the menu. Not what I would usually experience on an island holiday
Location: Rarotonga, no shopping nothing really to do but rest and swim. An expensive place to holiday if you are looking for value
The units are well appointed and have all you need but they are expensive for what you get. I got a good deal on expedia but friends dealt with the hotel direct via the wedding planner and paid twice what I paid. The staff were civil but not really friendly. Beware of the internet prices. Paid $30 for 100mb and on the last day was told I could buy vouchers from the hotel for $10 for 100mb had to argue with them for refund, was given credits but by then had no time to use them and gave them away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ben from Melbourne, Australia

Nicely laid out

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, private villa, beachside restaurant/cocktail bar.
Cons: Top blanket was a bit dirty.
Location: West side of island, close to a few restaurant although we caught the bus to other side of island a few times to do various activities.
Very good food from the 2 of 3 restaurants that were open during our stay. 3rd was closed due to it being quiet season. Lovely beachside cocktail area, spent most afternoons here on the sunset side of the island. Private plunge pool villa was fantastic and VERY private. Huge room, great bathroom and shower. Wifi access slightly annoying as even though we had free wifi, we had to get multiple 100mb passcode per day to access it. Could have been done better. Overall excellent though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Emz from Manawatu, NZ

Secluded hotel on quiet beach.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Overall was a nice place to stay for my weeks holiday. Unfortunately it did have a couple of disappointments. I had booked a private dinner for my birthday months in advance and had confirmation. They forgot about it and I didn't get my private dinner on the beach. Also I picked this hotel as I believed it was an adults on resort. There were kids around the resort everyday we were there. Otherwise was a very tidy resort, staff were friendly would recommend it to friends.
2 out of 5
by Jacky from London

Disappointing

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: Excellent Italian restaurant run by an Italian chef. Even here there were problems. Starters took over an hour but we were given a free drink.
Cons: See above
Location: Good for round Island buses, close to airport and main town.
This is an extremely expensive hotel, yet there is a meanness of spirit. Poor quality beach towels can only be obtained on a voucher system. It seems insufficiently staffed. While our deal offered free wifi, a new password had to be requested every two hours and could only be used on a single device. The main dining room was A depressing space and breakfast somewhat poor fare. Staff were friendly but lacked energy and initiative. Despite the hotel being relatively empty, late check-out charges were mandatory. We had a villa with a plunge pool that needed a good clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ben from NZ

Peace and quiet

Posted Feb 9, 2014
So quiet and peaceful, perfect to relax. Great restaurant and all local staff so friendly. Room immaculate!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: The staff were excellent, attentive and friendly.
Cons: Get more comfortable mats for the poolside/beachside loungers. Allow guests to order food from the Menu even if there is still a function happening.
Staff excellent, beautiful gardens and surroundings, close to beach, great breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Allie from Auckland, NZ

Private getaway

Posted Nov 3, 2013
Pros: The private outdoor area of the pool suite's. The accommodation was luxurious. Would definitely stay again.
Cons: Had a day where there was an issue with the pool where filter was not working.
Location: Captain Tama lagoon cruises is a must.
Great wonderful relaxed Sea/lagoon outlook at sunset every night. Snorkelling was awesome and the number of fish species in the lagoon. Don't be scared to stop and browse and if the locals are eating in a particular spot stop and try it. Palace takeaway by the harbour beautiful burgers right down to the last mouthful. Hire a scooter and take the adventure around the small island stopping at the road side stalls. Must take in a Island night in one of the resorts. Gorgeous place to relax and rejuvenate!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by trina027 from Sydney Australia

Our Own Private Oasis

Posted Jun 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our stay unfortunately was only to be short but this resort certainly had a HUGE impact. WOW we felt like royalty and it didn't disappoint at at!! Upon opening our double 'castle like' doors we were over whelmed to see a courtyard with a pool and cabana and chaise lounges! As we walked in side there was a large bedroom together with a lounge area TV/sound system up the 'corridor' was a kitchen and wardrobe THEN towards the right a bathroom fit for a 'king' - double shower and basins!! All of this for TWO!! So private! The villa had everything you could possibly want - coffee plunger, assorted teas, umbrellas and ironing board plus more!! All wonderfully clean The reception/bar/breakfast staff were so happy and helpful! Always smiling and nothing was ever too much trouble. Happy Hour 2 for 1 - FANTASTIC!! Try the Tsunami - yum yum!! We took ours back to our own 'castle'! This resort also has scooters available to rent which is great fun!!Try one and travel the island but remember NOTHING is open on a Sunday other than the resorts! The resort recommend you DONT swim in the sea at high tide due to strong currents. The Wind Jammer restaurant is worth a visit.