Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wales, uk

Great hotel, amazing location

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Cannot say enough good things about this place. Room was really nice, very clean and a very good size. Quiet resort great to relax, other restaurants within walking distance, restaurant at the hotel was very good though. Beach was breathtaking, and virtually private for the time of year we went. Hotel pools were also good, clean. Plenty of activities of you don't want to lie on the beach all day. A livelier town just 15 mins up the road if you need more things to entertain you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Methven

Great hotel right on the beach

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Location, abosulte beachfornt access, quiet and definitely a place I would come back to a.s.a.p. The restaurant evening meals were amazing.
Cons: Not much really , service was helpful and attentive, rooms great - a great little piece of paradise
Location: Right on the beach, great for snorkelling and paddling. Don't have to use snorkel gear to see the fish, they are right there.
Excellent place to stay. Real enjoyed the whole atmosphere of the place and thoroughly recommend the restaurant. 5 stars for the "reef and beef" entree - it was superb and the other dinners we enjoyed here were just as good. God place to relax and enjoy the snorkelling and beautiful coloured fish. Bus stop right outside to catch the bus around the island and the bakery across the road was great for snacks and lunches.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vic, Australia

Much more than a three star hotel!

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: The staff, the location and the restaurant. Really happy here!
Cons: On-site bike rental would be great, but otherwise the team here are doing everything perfectly!
Location: Close to Rarotonga you'll need a bike/motorbike/car to get around, but the island is small so nothing's too far away. Definitely eat at Anchors!
This was the first stop, and the cheapest, during our Cook Islands Honeymoon, and we both agree it was the best value for money and left us with the happiest experience. The hotel is comfortable, and having a waterfront bungalow we enjoyed sitting on our porch and watching whales go by and the sun set. The rooms are comfortable and quiet, and the staff are excellent. Always greeted with a smile and full of helpful advice and great stories, the staff really make this place the gem that it is. And then there's the restaurant. Wow! We came shortly after a new chef and couldn't believe how popular or how good it was! Even now I smile when I think about the meals we enjoyed there, and when there's a band, it's a fantastic night out and jut a few steps from your room. There is a bus stop out the front and if you're feeling energetic you can hire a bike nearby and ride to Muri, via the falls, with some scenic stops along the lagoon. Heck, you can ride around the island if you're really keen! The roads are safe and the locals are used to shaky tourists on two wheels! Snorkel gear is available for free, and don't be put off by rain - the fish love it! Just be careful as the lagoon is shallow and the reef is sharp! Would we stay here again? Absolutely!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne

Best ever island flop and drop.

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: modern day plasma on wall in room 29 with no fuzzy screen bin at the beach
Location: Location wonderful. Things to do are ther if you want them. e did do the overwater polynesian culture tour followed by the show and that was excellent
My husband and i wanted to have 8 nights as an island flop and drop for the Melbourne Cup week with NOTHING to do but read a book by the pool or ocean, have great meals, no housework, no company mobile, computer or ipad allowed. We did NOTHING at the best Resort, with the best accommodation, eating the best food serviced by the best staff, surrounded by the best beach and ocean. We do this every second year on an island somewhere in the world but this was the best Nothing we have ever done. Thank you Sunset Resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Great location, intimate rooms, not too large and

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: The hotel was small and well maintained. The staff were friendly
Cons: The Minor birds....they are shocking!
The staff were fantastic with the exception of one. Unfortunately we experienced this person on our first and last night at the Resort. We would have spent more time using the restaurant facilities if we did not have this unfriendly, dismissive experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved every minute of our time at Sunset resort. Room was exactly as shown in photos, clean with good facilities. Only minor flaw was the reception of the tv. Staff were friendly and helpful and the beach fantastic. Restaurant was also good but we noticed that they struggled with large numbers, particularly with the buffet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on beach

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Nice quiet hotel no younger kids about. Staff very friendly and helpful. Beach has quite a few rocks so have to be careful swimming. Food was nice and everything was clean. We did have a problem with our fridge and safe not working. Aside from that very nice. Next time I would probably pay extra and choose beach front.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland, NZ

Small quiet resort, no children

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Quiet, good location, great beach, great snorkeling, nice room.
Cons: Perhaps some variety at breakfast would be good.
Location: Beach was excellent for swimming at all tides. Snorkelling was good. Restaurants nearby are worth trying.
Had six nights in a beachfront room in July. Wonderful outlook - we could step out onto the beautiful white sand beach. On the first two days we saw a whale just outside the reef. We requested a resort transfer on arrival at Rarotonga - our flight arrived at 1.30am. We were met and welcomed with flowers. Breakfast buffet was included in the room price and was adequate. The local bus stops right outside the resort. There was a selection of reasonable restaurants a short walk from the resort so we did not have to eat at the resort if we didn't want to. Staff were friendly. A lovely stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Auckland

Great value

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: -A safe in the room, great to secure items while at the beach. -Complimentary masks, snorkels and reef shoes are in good condition
Cons: Road noise, dogs barking and roosters were loud- but this is the same in most resorts around the island. If you are a light sleeper pack earplugs.
Location: The restaurant onsite (Anchorage) is amazing. The snorkelling straight off the beach is as good as the other locations we went to on the island.
My partner and I booked via Expedia and promptly received an email from the resort to ask if we needed transfers from the airport, which were a very reasonable price. The room was large and secure. Overall the service was amazing, if you needed new beach towels, to stow your bags, or to book a scooter- nothing was too much trouble. Snorkelling directly off the beach was also some of the best we had during our stay. Thank you, Sunset Resort for a lovely holiday in paradise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Sunset Location

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Sunset Resort offers a place to stay which has a great location, great facilities, great restaurant and amazing sunsets. Would recommend this lovely resort to friends and family.