Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Single traveler from Truth or Consequences, NM

Comfortable

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Rooms are comfortable and spacious, and the staff is friendly and helpful.
Cons: Some of the lighting fixtures need repair, but otherwise everything else works. Improvements would include newer TVs and bedspreads.
While this is an older facility, formerly the Sands, it's still a good place to stay for the price. It's an easy location to find, just off the interstate, near plenty of restaurants and gas stations. The room was quite comfortable and the motel is pet friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Big Rooms

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: size of rooms
Nice large, 50's era rooms. Very quiet, and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jae from Omaha

Great for the Rate!

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: Size was great.
Cons: Can't think of anything off hand.
Location: We were on our way to Angel Fire and then on to Taos and Santa Fe. Great stopping off place if one is coming from the Midwest.
We liked our larger room and didn't have a problem being assigned the handicap room even though we didn't request it. We'd stay there again and asked for that room next time. Good experience, great rest after a 13 hour drive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dale from Denver

Quick Business Trip

Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice large room with comfortable bed and recliner chair. Motel some what dated. Carpet a little worn out but ok. Staff very nice. Did not get a chance to check out the breakfast. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Deal

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Affordable, clean, quiet. A little old, but a good deal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AV

Overnight stay

Posted Jan 10, 2014
This hotel was only for one night as a stop on a long road trip between Oklahoma and Colorado. It was a perfect place for what I needed. Nothing real nice, but I was getting in a midnight and leaving early in the morning so I didn't need too many amenities. Huge rooms and very clean for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Trip to the Capulin Volcano

Posted Nov 30, 2013
Excellent value. Extremely clean. Great service and good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Denver, CO

Great value!

Posted Nov 26, 2013
Pros: It was clean and quiet.
Cons: The towels were a little worn but nothing that would prevent me from giving this a very good rating. The couch was a little outdated.
Location: Located right off I-25 and near many restaurants, gas stations and other services. Downtown Raton is just minutes away.
Let's face it, 59.00 doesn't buy much these days when it comes to a hotel so my expectations were pretty low. Although this hotel has some age, the rooms are very clean and spacious and far from a "dive" that you might expect for this kind of money located right off of I-25. There was a fridge and microwave to boot. This property delivered everything I needed. Inexpensive, warm, clean, quiet, friendly staff, decent bed and clean linens. For about 60.00, you'd be hard pressed to find a better deal in Raton. I'll stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roi from Albuquerque, NM

Good deal for price.

Posted Nov 7, 2013
Pros: Very roomy with a frig and microwave.
Cons: Need to get new twels. The ones they have are thread bare.
ALTHOUGH THIS HOTEL IS OBVIOUSLY OLD IT IS CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE AND A GOOD VALUE FOR THE PRICE.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly Staff and Clean Rooms

Posted Aug 23, 2013
Pros: Staff, cleanliness, room size. Free and speedy wifi.
Cons: Update the TVs.
Location: Beautiful location at the gateway to the Rockies.
ABVI is a nice place to stay on an overnight trip. It's quiet, the staff is helpful and friendly, and the rooms are clean. As others have noted this motel has seen its glory days but they keep the very large rooms maintained and clean. Great place especially for a one night stay on a road trip.