Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Arizona

Don't stay here

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: WiFi worked good. Use of the unexpected garage helped keep the frost and ice off of my car windows.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Have no idea, just passing through.
When entering the room I found the thermostat to be set on 50 degrees F. I don't think it was that warm. I turned the thermostat up to 80 and by bedtime it was just about 60. When I woke up the next morning the temp in the room was just over 65. As there was NO heat in the bathroom and the floor felt like ice, I chose to skip a shower since the water pressure was very low. If it had been summer time and I needed to use the window air conditioner, it would have been blowing right in my face while using the desk (which I did have to use). There is no way to close the window curtains without blocking the air conditioner.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Just don't

Posted Feb 6, 2015
If we hadn't have been so tired and had had enough money to walk away from the money we paid (and wouldn't be refunded no matter what) we wouldn't have stayed there. As it was there were stains on the sheets and cobwebs on the window. The sink didn't drain and the room took forever to get warm (and the blanket was thin so didn't offer much warmth). We slept a few hours and left around 7 am. There was NO ONE available to check us out and had to leave the key in the key drop. Learning experience for us- NEVER try to save the money by choosing a 'locally owned' motel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oklahoma

Kitschy

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Great motel for the price! Quiet. Bed was comfortable. Is it dated? Yes. Does that mean you should pass it up? No. Room was clean. Most rooms had a garage, that was nice. Fridge, coffee pot, iron included in room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Utah

Better than sleeping in a car.

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Better than I expected for 30 bucks! Pulled up around 8:30pm and no one was working the desk, just a sign that said they would be right back. They showed up about 10 minutes later. Nice lady had me booked in within a couple of minutes. When I got to the room, it had its own private garage. Went in and it was as if I'd stepped into the 60's. Turned on the gas wall heater (room never quite got warm enough for me) and settled in. Slept well enough and woke up and had a hot shower in the cold bathroom. Overall, it was a decently clean and tidy two bedroom. It was definitely a memorable stay and I will probably do it again if ever in the area again (but not for more than $30).
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom TX

Looks like converted stables.

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: price was low enough but next time I think I will try M6
Cons: Turn on the neon sign and some lights in the parking area
Location: It is Raton, NM - drive through fast.
We drove in late at night. There is hardly any lighting on and place is hard too see. The parking area is very uneven and poorly maintained. First impression was to run away but the room was reasonable and warm. Bed was not too hard. Acceptable for a short stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Southwest

OK,,,,,about what we expected, maybe better.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Price. When you only need a quick, clean place to crash for a few hours when you are traveling it is nice to not have to spend $100.
Cons: Ability to uncover the air conditioner without opening your drapes or leaving an open gap to see in around the unit.
Location: Just stopped for the night on a longer trip.
The room was fine for the price we paid and as good as we would have expected. It was comfortable and clean, nothing fancy but provided what we needed for the night. Our only complaint, and we're not sure if it was Expedia or the motel, but when I booked on Expedia and asked how much extra for taxes and fees would be added to the price, Expedia put me on hold and called the motel and said there were no extra extra tax or fees on this particular room and put that in the confirmation email that the price was total. However, when we got to the motel they said they knew nothing about that and there was definitely an extra charge for taxes, etc.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Turn on the Neon Please!

Posted Mar 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
There aren't many stand-out properties in Raton, largely due to its location and surroundings, but there is an ample amount of ones that are perfectly adequate considering both price and the fact that Raton is typically a rest stop instead of a destination. That said, this property is perfectly adequate. On the day of my check-in, I arrived before the staff did, but they were there after I had a bite to eat. I discovered this is probably because I was one of only two arriving guests that night, so they're forgiven. Other than that, the room was as comfortable and clean as one would expect for the price, the WiFi signal solid, and the staff accommodating for the rest of my stay. The heat inside the room seemed strong enough for a warm winter day, but I wonder would it have been if the weather were as chilly as it usually is this time of year. On the upside, each room has its own interior carport, which some will find very useful when the town sees its peak periods of snowfall. Would stay again as long as the price stays right.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Richardfrom Albuquerque, NM

Close to ammenities in Raton

Posted Jan 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is a nice older hotel. It was very comfortable and clean. It was very cold when I stayed and the pull in garage was great. The room is basic but has everything you could need such as a fridge, microwave, coffee maker and sat TV.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Travelin Manfrom Arkansas

Diamond in the rough

Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Didn't expect much from the pictures but it was clean and pretty comfortable. What more can you ask for?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Reggiefrom Peoria, IL

A satisfactory hotel for a one-night stay.

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Cons: The motel is old and it needs to be updated.
Location: Near several national park sites in northeast New Mexico.
Based on the reviews we read, rooms at this hotel were very different from one another. Others complained about a tiny bath. Ours was spacious. Our room did not have covered parking. Some rooms did. Others complained about the heaters. Each room had an old heater that did not work but each room also had a new heater that did work. This was a one-night stop for us between national parks. I might not recommend the room for an extended stay, but it was fine for one night.