Ratings based on 270 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This hotel was a little gem.

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Cons: Nothing to improve.
Location: Not much to do nearby. Fast food is readily available nearby, but finding a place to dine was a challenge.
This hotel was perfect for a night passing through Raton. The room layout was nice, and the amenities were clean and in good repair. The staff was very attentive every time we spoke with them, and they greeted us warmly each time we passed through the lobby. Internet over the free WiFi was excellent. I'm an IT guy and really appreciate a hotel where the Internet connection doesn't completely suck. I was also left with the impression the staff or management is very safety and security conscious. Fire extinguishers were in great condition (including little hammers to break the glass) and evacuation plans were prominently posted. This was an excellent room for the price and I will gladly stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

On our way to Colorado

Posted Aug 20, 2014
We like to stay here for convenience on our way from Houston to Colorado. The hotel could use some updating!! However, they staff is great and always so welcoming!!! We just always go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DALLAS, TX

A PLEASANT SURPRISE

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: THE AREA WHERE IT IS LOCATED, NEWNESS, CLEANLINESS, ROOM DECOR
Cons: NOTHING I CAN THINK OF. PRETTY CLOSE TO PERFECT
Location: GOOD LOCATION. CLOSE TO EVERYTHING
VERY NICE AND CLEAN. WELL APPOINTED. FRIENDLY STAFF
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha Ne

Week long stay for National shoot at Whittington

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: convenient to highway, restaurants, and price.
Cons: The breakfast could offer a little more variety, but for the price of the room was fine.
Location: Location was right next to highway, so had no trouble in the morning driving to Whittington center. Close to several restaurants, walking distance.
I had a week long stay at Microtel for a National shoot at the Whittington center. The hotel was conveniently located to the highway. The rooms were clean and the staff friendly. The carpets in the hallway were a little worn but the room was fine. The breakfast could have had a little more variety, but for the price was fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nive hotel located close to Philmont Scout Ranch

Posted Jul 14, 2014
My son and I recently went to Philmont Scout Ranch in NM. Needed a place to stay before and after our adventure. The Microtel by Wyndham facility was nice and clean but what really stood out was the staff!!! During our before the adventure stay the staff went out of there way to make sure we did not miss our Philmont shuttle (they recently had a change in pick up location). One of the staff kept going outside while we had a quick breakfast. During our after the adventure stay, the manager on duty overheard my son and I talking about how we did not have any transportation to get to the Amtrak station in the morning (6:00am and 1.7 miles from the hotel). He told us not to worry and that he would figure out a way to get us there so we did not have to walk. His solution...he personally showed up at 5:45 am the next morning and drove my son and I to the station! That is some awesome customer service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Clean hotel & near to highway

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Rooms are clean & hotel is very near to highway. They have a free breakfast buffet that was pretty diverse. Also they have soup & crackers in the evening.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from austin, tx

Raton, NM

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Cons: CLEAN appropriately. No one wants to stay in a dirty bed when traveling.
Duvet was dirty under top cover - crusty areas! Dirt particulates between the sheets. The entire room smelled like cigarette smoke. Might have been coming in through the A/C vents. Not impressed, especially since it received a 4.2 out of 5 rating. Disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

I was impressed with every aspect of this hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Comfort, cleanliness, price, allow dogs to stay there.
Cons: No, Not a thing. Keep doing a great job,
Location: Many restaurants close by
After driving 500 miles, I was very happy to stay in this hotel overnight. I was very impressed.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by BillSNM from Raton

Won't stay again.

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was disappointed with the breakfast. The only warm food was either a waffle or toast. No eggs or breakfast meat and the only fruit was an apple. No onsite fitness center but one available a mile away. Very inconvenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

A Good, But Expensive, Microtel

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is the best Microtel in which I've stayed, but it is also much more expensive (50-90% more than other Microtels). This hotel has a free breakfast (waffles, cereal, yoghurt and pastries) which the other Microtels don't have. Hotel is clean, comfortable and quiet, and everything worked.