Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ALWAYS A NICE STAY

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: Quiet
We have been coming here for years. Always a pleasant stay. Staff is very nice, and most have been with the hotel for a number of years.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ryan from Chicago

Nice hotel, remote location, and terrible food.

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Pros: Very nice staff, nice pool, clean rooms.
Cons: FOOD, the restaurant was not very expensive but way overpriced for the quality of food.
Location: Antique shop, everything else is a 15-20 minute drive.
I have stayed at the Magnuson 3 times in the last couple weeks and I found the staff to be very pleasant and the facility to be nice (despite its out dated d├ęcor etc). The one thing that bothered me was the terrible food, I tried 3 different items on the menu over the various stays and also had the complimentary breakfast buffet which I could not even eat. I feel they need to focus more on improving their food as they are in a remote location with not a lot of options close by.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mike

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by PassingThrough

Hotel has been going downhill for years

Posted Sep 9, 2013
The room actually seemed pretty clean and the bed was pretty comfortable. The worst part about the experience was definitely the free breakfast. In the past we loved the free buffet but over the years the quality and selection has degraded. This time we decided to order from the menu. I must say that the custom omelette we ordered was pretty tasty. However, the waitress was rude and the service was slow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rita from Watseka, IL

Comfortable and close to everything we needed.

Posted Jul 16, 2013
Pros: Comfort, convenience and a pleasant staff.
Cons: We were pleased with everything.
Location: For us it was the perfect location.
We attended my daughter's wedding at Pleasant Hill Christian Church which is located just down the road from the hotel. We checked in at 3:00 that day and left early the next morning. We did not stay for the breakfast, so I don't have an opinion on that. Filled the tank at the Shell station before we left. That was also conveniently located across from the hotel. Even though we did'nt spend a lot of time there, I thought the hotel was very nice and the staff was very helpful. The bed was large and comfortable and the room contained everything we needed. We may stay again in December for my grandson's wedding.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Smokey not clean

Posted Jul 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Older smokey room. I wouldn't do it again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Marsha from Kansas

Beautiful hotel!

Posted Jul 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Magnuson! The room was nice and clean. The hot breakfasts were delicious and served buffet style in a large dining room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel grounds were beautiful and we enjoyed walking on the path around the pond.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Jan from Indiana

Posted Jul 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
This place was more than I expected! I wish I had longer to stay and enjoy the facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Daron

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 7, 2013 on Hotels.com