Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2014
attended a meeting very nice convenient staff was nice food for lunch was good breakfast could have been better
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from Long Beach, CA

Your only real local option

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Cons: Definitely needs remodeled! Put in an elevator.
This was our third stay (previously it was called the Best Western) and it has pretty much remained unchanged, although this time was the first we stayed onthe second floor. Biggest issue? No elevator. Normally not a problem but a real pain with little kids and lots of luggage. Ask for the first floor. It's pretty standard and nothing "Grand" as the name would indicate. The rooms and setting are a bit dated and worn but overall, clean and ok. Breakfast is included and it's pretty standard, eggs, ham, potatoes, the usual cereal and toast. It's our only close option when visiting family and friends in nearby Carlinville (although it is still a good 10+ miles to town). Your only other options are two local, dodgy motels unless you want to drive out further.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Phil from Columbus

Good location for wedding gathering

Posted Mar 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comfortable rooms..great restaurant and bar staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ALWAYS A NICE STAY

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: Quiet
We have been coming here for years. Always a pleasant stay. Staff is very nice, and most have been with the hotel for a number of years.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Wall

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ryan from Chicago

Nice hotel, remote location, and terrible food.

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Pros: Very nice staff, nice pool, clean rooms.
Cons: FOOD, the restaurant was not very expensive but way overpriced for the quality of food.
Location: Antique shop, everything else is a 15-20 minute drive.
I have stayed at the Magnuson 3 times in the last couple weeks and I found the staff to be very pleasant and the facility to be nice (despite its out dated d├ęcor etc). The one thing that bothered me was the terrible food, I tried 3 different items on the menu over the various stays and also had the complimentary breakfast buffet which I could not even eat. I feel they need to focus more on improving their food as they are in a remote location with not a lot of options close by.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mike

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by PassingThrough

Hotel has been going downhill for years

Posted Sep 9, 2013
The room actually seemed pretty clean and the bed was pretty comfortable. The worst part about the experience was definitely the free breakfast. In the past we loved the free buffet but over the years the quality and selection has degraded. This time we decided to order from the menu. I must say that the custom omelette we ordered was pretty tasty. However, the waitress was rude and the service was slow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2013 on Hotels.com