Ratings based on 332 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Belfast

Central city hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Location and breakfast.
Cons: Air conditioning and Parking costs.
Location: Central Reading. excellent for shops, travel and entertainment.
Fairly nice hotel, but spoilt by excessive heat in bedroom and expensive car parking. However, very good for rail travelers and express coach from Heathrow. Some materials on sofa etc showing damage. Air conditioning ineffective. Vrry noisy if windows open.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas

Helpful staff.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Surprisingly nice for a Novotel. Nothing fancy, but met my expectations. The breakfast buffet was pretty well stocked as well, so definitely get that package if available.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Typical novotel

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Every time I book this hotel group I ask for a double bed plus sofa bed (which they advertise ) and never ever get one - I have got fed up of being fobbed off when I ask reception to resolve so I guess I must find some other hotel group
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Liverpool

Easy walking distance from Reading Station

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Receptionist staff who showed exceptional customer care.
Cons: Cheaper breakfast rates. £16.95 seemed very expensive for breakfast
Location: Great central location. Easy walking distance to shops and station. Nandos next door, Sainsburys 50 metres away and McDonalds over the road.
Clean, functional hotel with exceptional receptionist staff who were incredibly helpful. The hotel is on one of the busiest roads in Reading town centre and can get quite noisy ( we stayed on a Saturday night whilst visiting Reading for a 50th birthday party) so ask for a room at the back of the hotel away from the main street. Beds were very comfortable ! It is ideally located for the station - only 2 minutes walk away - and there are plenty of cafes etc nearby even a Mcdonalds over the road if you want alternative breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Excelent location. Great staff and very nice room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Surrey

Excellent value, best city centre hotel in Reading

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: Best location, walking distance to anywhere in Reading city centre and close to public transport. The fact there is a pool and a gym is a bonus
Cons: Bring back the sachets of hot chocolate that used to be with the tea and coffee in the rooms!
Location: Close to everything in Reading, ideally located for anyone going to see bands at The Bowery District/Sub89 on Friar St. which is just across the road
I've stayed in Novotel Reading before, but this time I got an amazing deal on Expedia for just £49 for twin room. Excellent value for a 4 star hotel with leisure facilities right in the centre, minutes walk away from Reading train station. The hotel is quite new compared to other hotels in the centre of Reading. Rooms are modern and well equiped, with VERY comfortable beds, free tea and coffee, fridges and free toiletries. There is a fitness club on the lower ground floor (basement) with swimming pool, steam room, sauna and gym. Breakfast was not included in the room rate I paid, but if you wish to have breakfast, then pre-pay in advance when you check-in or before midnight, as it's £8.95 bought in advance, but £16.00 if bought in the morning. Breakfast was very good, cooked full English buffet and all the usual food on offer. Staff were very friendly and made me a hot chocolate with milk which I requested instead of the cheap chocolate made with water from the coffee machine. There were also pancakes and lots of different breads and fruits on offer. Food in the hotel restaurant is generally very expensive, so I would go elsewhere in town for dinner and beware that room service costs an additional service charge of £3.00. I would definitely stay at this Novotel again, as this was the third or fourth time I've stayed here over the last six years.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Perfect night's sleep!

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: The room!
Cons: Nothing
Location: Right in the town centre and close to the rail station too.
The room was large, airy, clean, comfortable - the bed large, clean, comfortable. Either the hotel was really quiet or the walls/windows very soundproofed as we didn't hear a thing all night from the hotel or the busy street below. I had read on reviews that breakfast wasn't worth £16/£17 pounds but discovered that if you booked it the evening before it was half price and it was definitely worth the money (loved the Pancake PitStop especially!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom midlands

Good location

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Lifts
Location: Shopping
Nice hotel, in a good locations. Walking distence to shopping areas and resturant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom HH

Ideal

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Very close to shops, bars and restaurants, and 2 minutes walk to the train station. Not a romantic hotel! But very good for a girls weekend away. Very good breakfast and perfect location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brighton

Great hotel & location

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Can not fault this hotel. Staff are very helpful, rooms comfy with nice coffee machine and complementary bath/stuff.. Definitely book at Novotel again.