Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Norfolk, England

Beautiful and very secluded hotel with great food

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: The food was defintley the high point, so served two complimentary starters and the quantities were just right.
Cons: Language barrier, the restaurant menu could have a brief translation
Location: The hotel is lovely and secluded and things aren't more than a 40 minute drive away, but not ideal for people who are hoping to walk to the shops!
The hotel was beautiful, we ate in the restaurant both nights we stayed there and food was amazing, haven't had food that tasted that good in years. The only issue with the restaurant is all the menu was in french and there wasn't any sort of basic translation, so we were using a lot of translation apps on our phone during dinner! The room was lovely, if I were to go again I would defintley get a bigger room (we stayed in a basic double, but a bigger room would've been good and the double bed was too singles stuck together). The area was lovely just for a weekend, but for any longer the hotel is a bit too far from civilisation. The hotel was lovely, staff very friendly and polite, room was clean and comfortable. The only thing I would critise would be the language barrier with a few members of staff, but there was at least one member of staff that spoke good english at all times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel with upgraded rooms

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Excellent stay, good breakfast and a beautiful location. Downsides were only a hand shower above the bath and we would have had dinner if the kitchens had stayed open past 8.30. I would definitely recommend this hotel, please can you consider later food availability on Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Excellent Hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: The room, food, wine, staff were wonderful
Cons: Nothing that I can think of
Location: The Hotel is in lovely grounds, however we have only used this hotel as a very nice stop over on the way home
We stayed here at the end of a week long trip through the Alps. This was such a wonderful end to our holiday. We have stayed at this hotel a few times but many years ago and it was a delight to see the refurbishment programme they are undergoing. We had upgraded our room and were delighted with the changes made. Would most definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canterbury

Lovely hotel close to the shuttle

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Spent a winter weekend at chateau cocove. The room was very large (chambre de Luxe) and comfortable. We ate in the hotel restaurant both evenings where the food was delicious and the staff warm and friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London

Nice hotel and handy for Calais / tunnel.

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Mini Chateau character of the hotel.
We only stayed 1 night so only limited interaction with the staff and the hotel facilities - thus I can only give them 4/5. They did speak/understand English, which was a big help. The room was very clean, the bathroom had been recently refurbished and was excellent, although the bath was small(very Eco) and there was no separate shower. The room was smaller than I hoped, but it was part of a deal and there was only two of us in it! However, as the hotel was not busy, I had hoped they would have put us in a larger room! Thus the 4/5. My wife was very happy with it - which was the main thing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Lovely hotel, amazing food

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Location: The location is what it is, there is not much to do around there, but if you're going for a short getaway - it's great. Fresh, green and quiet.
Stayed for one night on our way to the Euro Tunnel just before Christmas. The room was lovely, the gardens were beautiful (we saw a pack of deer in the evening) the staff were very helpful and charmingly French, but the highlight of the place was the dinner - unexpectedly outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Amazing

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: Beautiful building and surrounding area
Cons: The hallway carpet outside our room needed replacing but that wouldn't stop us recommending this hotel
Location: Great location to zip to Boulogne or Calais or to start your drive holiday though France in style!
Fantastic hotel and the food was absolutely incredible the chef cooks the most amazing food, we were sorry we didn't get a chance to tell him in person. The staff were all lovely very friendly and helpful. The hotel is really beautiful and the breakfast is bountiful we will definitely come back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Hampshire, England

A bit of luxury yet close to Calais

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: The food and the style of hotel - an impressive looking chateau in its own grounds.
Cons: A bit on the pricey side but justified. We wanted to treat ourselves for the first night of our holiday and weren't disappointed.
Location: An easy 20 minute drive from Calais, just off a main route through France (we were heading for Italy), yet in quiet countryside. Ideal as a stop-over
A lovely hotel, in the countryside yet only 20 minutes from Calais. The room was clean and comfortable with a large bed (tiled floor cold on the feet - take your slippers!). The food was outstanding and a real treat. It was our first stop-over on a three week drive around Europe and was a great start to the holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom crowborough

No need to worry

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: the setting ,the rooms and the food
Cons: shower facilities.
Having read a few negative reviews we were a little worried about our stay at the Chateaux. The Chateaux is set in beautiful surroundings with a delightful walled garden in which to take a pre dinner stroll. We received a warm welcome and were shown to a lovely room on the ground floor. It was comfortably furnished with a king size bed, a well equipped ensuite with bath and shower. Our only problem was mastering the shower which was of the pull out hand held type that without a shower screen resulted in a rather wet floor! The restaurant is a most attractive room with lovely views from large picture windows. We enjoyed an excellent menu at 38Euros. The friendly attentive staff greatly added to the occasion and what a pleasure to meet a sommelier who really new his job. Overall a most enjoyable experience and we look forward to a return visit. Ray and Julie N