Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Delicious breakfast! and super close to beach!
Lovely bed and breakfast. Would recommended. SUper close to beach and small downtown areas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Close to the beach with to a die for breakfast

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: We liked decor and comfort level.
Cons: My wife is very picky about mattresses, so she couldn't sleep at night. So maybe if the mattresses could be switched. They do look a bit worn out.
Location: Walk and sit on the beach, rent bicycles and ride along the boardwalk, go eat in numerous restaurants.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Carriage House Bed & Breakfast. The hotel has antique furniture and decorations which makes you feel like you are visiting your granny in England.The homemade breakfast was prepared each morning and sooo delicious!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location and breakfast

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels
Phil and Kathi are great hosts. Phil suggested a few places to eat in both Ocean Grove and Asbury Park. Phil and Kathi have been doing this a long time and they made us feel at home. The breakfast was delicious. The Carriage house is in walking distance to the beach, boardwalk, restaurants and shops. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Ocean Grove is a nice town. It was an easy walk to Asbury Park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Vincent from Connecticut

Very nice except for Room 6

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels
Our two day stay was very pleasant. The location is excellent. Only drawback was our room # 6. The double bed is against the wall on one side. The floor is not even so the head of the bed is lower than the feet, which was very uncomfortable. I asked if there were any other rooms for our second night and was told no, although the inn did not seem full.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely B&B with a great location

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely B&B one block from beach with boardwalk and one block from Ocean Grove's small shopping district. Owners are very nice and breakfast Saturday morning was outstanding. Only drawback was the third floor room with no elevator and size of room but for one night it was definitely OK. Would definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Hifigw from Panama

Fabulous Breakfast

Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels
As with most b&bs the rooms are on the small side but very comfortable. A little too feminine in design for my taste. However the welcome and the breakfast more than made up for it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey, England

Not from visitors from abroad!

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Every room needs a wardrobe, or at least hanging space.
Location: Location is excellent - one block from the beach - in the quaint old town of Ocean Grove
My husband and I were greeted with a friendly welcome by the owner who viewed our large and heavy suitcases with dismay. Our room was on the 2nd floor and no lift. It is an old hotel, as befits the area, with lots of nooks and crannies. Visitors from abroad should be warned that none of the rooms have wardrobes, or indeed any hanging space, and we had arrived from England with all our finery for a wedding! Our host quickly provided us with several hangers and we had to make use of 3 hooks on the wall and by using the shower rail (which was very flimsy). None of the rooms have wardrobes and the owner said he was never asked about this as most of his guests just came for the beach - and Americans tend to rarely change for dinner, etc. The shower in the room was very old and poor. The water took a long time to empty from the basin. The floor was on an incline in our bedroom. Room 7 is only suitable as a children's room. The rooms on the lower floor are very much larger, with balconies, but still no hanging spaces! Having paid in advance for 5 nights, we left the very next morning to find more suitable accommodation at our own expense, although the owner managed to let one of the nights and he kindly repaid us the money for that night. Breakfast is very lavish but very strange food to an English palate!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice bed and breakfast.

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Nice bed and breakfast. Excellent staff, very friendly. Very good breakfast. Our room was a little small, but it served it's purpose for us. We were in town for a wedding and wanted to stay overnight as opposed to driving home after the wedding. Overall a very pleasant experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

great place

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels
excellent breakfast