Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Red Deer, Ab

Awful Experience

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything.
This is one of the worst stays of my life. Smells awful, stains on sheets, towels, floor etc. If we did not get there at midnight after working 16 hrs we woudl have left in a heart beat. Pay a bit more and stay somewhere else!!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Kitscoty, AB

Never Stay Here!

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: nothing would never stay again!!
Terrible place to stay...outside doors were not secured...broken windows, glass all over walkways...rate on sign in was cheaper than on website but had already paid online.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

weekend holiday

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: staff were friendly and helpful
Cons: the room could have been cleaner (spots on bedspread and bathroom walls) tap in tub needs repair(drips)and no plug in case you wanted to bath
Location: close to downtown
we came for the weekend, first time we stayed here. We were very dissappointed in the disrepair of the room. The room heater cover sat in pieces on the floor.The inside window latch was broken. The bathroom door was hard to open and close. the tub tap dripped constantly, thus tub finish was erouded.., also the bed spread was dirty.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Barrhead

Hotel needs work.

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Cleanliness of facility and staff attitude
Location: Great Boston Pizza next door.
The window sills are full of dust, the room was not ready when we arrived, the front desk lady asked if we would take a different room with a smaller bed and was shocked when I said no. The drain of the tub was full of hair. The toilet did not flush very good. Outside exits were propped open allowing anyone to enter. The hotel smelled musty. Need I go on. I thought all Motel 8's would have similar standards. I guess not.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Underwhelming stay

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Better lighting, newer utilities
The hotel rooms are not sound proof at all and very dimly lit. The front desk woman was not very friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Swift Current Sk

Good enough for a quick stay in town.

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Was not in the hotel long enough to really rate it. But the first night was awful, before we even opened the door we thought we were by a smoking room. When we got inside it really smelled awful, even the sheets on the bed stunk. The second night was way better, no smell. We would get to our room around 11pm. and leave at 8am in the mornings. When I had booked online I was sure I had the other Super 8 but was alright anyway.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Windsor Ontario

Not as described

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: I did not like any thing about this hotel
Cons: They should shut it down and totally renovate this hotel and hire more cleaning staff.
Location: It is located within 1 kilometer of restaurants and shopping.
We stayed twice at this hotel. First time we arrived and found that the windows did not lock. We were on the ground floor and did not feel secure. Continental breakfast was a joke. The second time we stayed was only because we were committed and could not get our payment back. We had reserved a king sized bed on the ground floor. They told us that their reservation for us was for a queen. They told us it was the booking companies error. Expedia. They then upgraded us to a king but it was on the second floor with no elevators. My wife has trouble with stairs. When we went into the room the bathtub had black mold around the caulking and on the shower curtain. We requested non smoking and the smell of cigarettes reeked through the hotel. The rooms were very small.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB

Not What We Asked For

Posted Sep 14, 2014
We requested a room with 2 beds and nonsmoking because a friend and myself were staying the night for a triathlon the next day. We wanted to be well rested and we are bot very sensitive to smoke. We arrived and the desk clerk barely understood English and said that we had a double smoking room. I asked why were we in a smoking room because we requested non smoking and he blamed it on Expedia. Everything that was wrong, was blamed on Expedia. We ended up having to stay in a tiny single room with a cot. The bathroom door would not shut or open if it was closed. There were kitchen appliances that seemed unnecessary and were very old and dirty. The floor was dirty and there was a sticky substance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Lydiafrom Cold Lake

Average Hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall an average hotel, you get what you pay for. The breakfast, however, was pretty good so we were pleased with that.