Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.3 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DEFINITELY not for Non-smokers

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: The front desk clerk was very pleasant .
First of all, the photo is NOT what you get. Second the whole place smells of smoke and is very run down. I have stayed there a couple of times a few years back and the place was very nice and clean, the picture is that of before. Now the place is obviously under different management and I will never stay there again. Big mistake for Super 8! I will definitely CHECK out before booking with Super 8 again online.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Red Deer, Ab

Awful Experience

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything.
This is one of the worst stays of my life. Smells awful, stains on sheets, towels, floor etc. If we did not get there at midnight after working 16 hrs we woudl have left in a heart beat. Pay a bit more and stay somewhere else!!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Kitscoty, AB

Never Stay Here!

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: nothing would never stay again!!
Terrible place to stay...outside doors were not secured...broken windows, glass all over walkways...rate on sign in was cheaper than on website but had already paid online.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

weekend holiday

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: staff were friendly and helpful
Cons: the room could have been cleaner (spots on bedspread and bathroom walls) tap in tub needs repair(drips)and no plug in case you wanted to bath
Location: close to downtown
we came for the weekend, first time we stayed here. We were very dissappointed in the disrepair of the room. The room heater cover sat in pieces on the floor.The inside window latch was broken. The bathroom door was hard to open and close. the tub tap dripped constantly, thus tub finish was erouded.., also the bed spread was dirty.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Barrhead

Hotel needs work.

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Cleanliness of facility and staff attitude
Location: Great Boston Pizza next door.
The window sills are full of dust, the room was not ready when we arrived, the front desk lady asked if we would take a different room with a smaller bed and was shocked when I said no. The drain of the tub was full of hair. The toilet did not flush very good. Outside exits were propped open allowing anyone to enter. The hotel smelled musty. Need I go on. I thought all Motel 8's would have similar standards. I guess not.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Underwhelming stay

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Better lighting, newer utilities
The hotel rooms are not sound proof at all and very dimly lit. The front desk woman was not very friendly.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Roland Rusnellfrom Saskatchewan

Good From Far - Far From Good

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Filthy. If I could attach photos I would because you would not believe it. It was a good thing I didn't need to start the heater/air conditioner, it was completely full of dirt. The wall paper was even trying to leave the room. The shower head was falling apart. The lobby was pretty disgusting - chose not to take advantage of the 'free' continental breakfast. Cancelled my 3 night booking after the first night. Customer service at the desk was odd-didn't even ask why I was cancelling. Must be used to hearing complaints; they did suggest that housekeeping could be sent back. Sorry, unless your housekeeper does renos, its out of their hands. Housekeeping actually appeared to be doing a decent job for what they have to work with. Ultimately this dump should be levelled with a dozer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Swift Current Sk

Good enough for a quick stay in town.

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Was not in the hotel long enough to really rate it. But the first night was awful, before we even opened the door we thought we were by a smoking room. When we got inside it really smelled awful, even the sheets on the bed stunk. The second night was way better, no smell. We would get to our room around 11pm. and leave at 8am in the mornings. When I had booked online I was sure I had the other Super 8 but was alright anyway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Marcfrom Entwistle

Better than expected.

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was wary after the previous bad reviews. But the bed was good, the room clean and the tv huge. The hotel is dated and does need repairs but overall it was an enjoyable stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Windsor Ontario

Not as described

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: I did not like any thing about this hotel
Cons: They should shut it down and totally renovate this hotel and hire more cleaning staff.
Location: It is located within 1 kilometer of restaurants and shopping.
We stayed twice at this hotel. First time we arrived and found that the windows did not lock. We were on the ground floor and did not feel secure. Continental breakfast was a joke. The second time we stayed was only because we were committed and could not get our payment back. We had reserved a king sized bed on the ground floor. They told us that their reservation for us was for a queen. They told us it was the booking companies error. Expedia. They then upgraded us to a king but it was on the second floor with no elevators. My wife has trouble with stairs. When we went into the room the bathtub had black mold around the caulking and on the shower curtain. We requested non smoking and the smell of cigarettes reeked through the hotel. The rooms were very small.