Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay

Posted Oct 15, 2014
This B & B was very quaint and had an interesting history. The inn keeper and her husband were helpful and accommodating. We had a lovely stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pam from Nanaimo, Vancouver Island BC

Lovely B&B in park-like setting

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: The sheer beauty of the surrounding area and how well the place had been restored.
Cons: The bathroom was old and normally wd have been fine but getting ready for a wedding in the dim light was difficult. It did not spoil the experience
Location: The location was in the country but only four miles to Swansea, a beautiful little town with trails and gorgeous library, architecture and history.
My husband and I stayed at Gilbert's tree farm on June 19-21 (3 nights) and had a wonderful time. We were in the area for a wedding and it turned out two other couples were there for the same reason. We met the most interesting people at breakfast, which was excellent by the way. The property was absolutely gorgeous and we found some wonderful trails just minutes away by car. The owners were super-nice and would do anything to help. I would definitely recommend this B&B highly
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Rachel Majka from Belchertown Mass

Going Home

Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
It felt more like being home than in a hotel or motel. Everything was relaxed and comfortable. Best reservation I ever made.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by experienced traveler from Europe

This needs to be said

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
After reading all the reviews, I am getting the impression that noone is willing to say but many are trying to relate that the Gilbert farm is not what is advertised as. First of all, there is a house at the end of driveway, was a farm a 100 years ago. No trails, no walking area around it. The room upstairs is in attic, you can only stand up in one side of the room, window is small. The SAHERED bathroom is behind your wall, so you can hear the other guests going to the bathroom in the middle of the night. I get the impression that the owners have not stayed in a BB themselves for the last 30 years. They are older, overall nice people, but are not up to speed as to today's standard. Even though, they are locals, they were not able to provide much information as to what's around the immediate area. The BB has no travel information, booklets or maps. The breakfast is very limited, almost rationed, while sitting at the communal table. hopefully, Hotels.com will indicate that the Gilberts farm has a room option with only a shared bathroom. Finally, the positives: close to the highway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kay M. from Paisley, Fl.

Wonderful stay at this B & B

Posted Oct 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
We loved the location of the this B & B. Quiet with lovely surroundings. Our host and hostess were so sweet and wonderful. I have never felt so at home in a B & B. I especially appreciated the effort to serve breakfast at our convenience. We had to leave a little early the last morning to be in Newport and we were provided a wonderful breakfast before the normal time. The food was fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Joanne from New York

Very comfortable and welcoming

Posted Sep 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Jean, the innkeeper, was very attentive, but in a non-intrusive way. She called ahead of time to confirm our arrival and ask what our preferences were for breakfast. The room was very comfortable and in a wing all to itself. I would definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by DP from NY, NY

Be prepared to pray at breakfast

Posted Aug 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
A lovely B&B. Hosts attentive, and very accommodating, like to get to know you. Room clean, no a/c. Shared bathroom, not so comfortable when other guests are present. I don't remember reading on the website that the bathroom is shared, although I can be mistaken. You just kind of find out that you are sharing the bathroom with two other rooms when you get there. Very quiet but not much around it. Front entrance sign is tiny, hard to see. Lastly, be prepared to say a morning prayer. Born a Christian but now a practicing Buddist, I am all for praying, just not at the breakfast table. A word of caution to the hosts - not all people will be opened to doing that. Personally, it made me feel uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed our stay

Posted Aug 25, 2013
Pros: It was in the country, quiet, clean, and comfortable. Adequate linens and other supplies were available. The owners were friendly and helpful.
Location: It was half way between Newport and Providence, so was convenient to ocean and carousels in area. Some of the road signs to it were hidden in trees.
This B and B was off the beaten track and well worth our stay. The owners were very accommodating. Since there were no other guests upstairs at the time, we did not have to share the shared bath. That was a big plus for us. It was a good price for a B and B.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler from Salem, MA

trip to WaterFire in Providence, RI

Posted Aug 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
This B&B was perfect! The room was clean and comfortable along with the offering of a delicious breakfast with other guests. Hosts were outstaning people, gracious and interesting. Only 12 miles from Providence, RI. Will definitely return.