Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Below expectations hotel with a restaurant

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Nice big room. Good location, close to Reims and easy drive to Epernay. Michelin star restaurant in the hotel is worth a visit.
Cons: Room service/ breakfast: too expensive, needs simple food options Pool plastic lining needs a refurb Poor attitude of one staff; lack of tour info
Location: Reims, champagne houses, Epernay, champagne scenic route, on site michelin star restaurant
It's an expensive hotel with a 3 michelin star restaurant. The hotel staff were helpful overall, apart from the blonde lady at check in: upon arrival, she got our reservation wrong. Instead of saying "let me double check, there could've been a mistake", she points at me and says "this is what I have here, YOU need to call Expedia and cancel it with them, I can't do anything about it". In shock I said "no, no, I have the confirmation here, let me get it for you". She waives at me with a dismissive signal saying "it's ok, it's ok. The thing is, there's another person in the system with a similar name to yours, but I can see it now" without apologising AT ALL. That's not the type of welcome service you expect from a supposingly 5 stars establishment at that price level. Room was nice and big. It's late and we'd like some 'simple' room service: none existent. You can either choose from a plate of cheese for EUR 25 or get a EUR 70 dish from their gourmet restaurant... Nothing in between. Breakfast: EUR 33 for a few croissants, home made jams and a greasy omelet? I don't think so! Pool: relaxing area, although feels cheap and needs a refurb. Gourmet restaurant: worth a visit. That's the best (or only?) thing the hotel has. Great service, good food, bit pricey tho. We've struggled to find a wine below EUR 100 in their wine bible. No matching wine option with the menu. They do have champagne matching tho- if you want to pay an extra EUR 180 pp on top of the food bill...
2 out of 5
by Tommo. from London, UK

Disappointing

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: See Experience above
Location: En route to Calais. In the champagne region.
Conveniently situated just outside Reims adjacent to the autoroute to Calais. We have stopped over at this hotel for many years. We had a recently refurbished room on the first floor. Unfortunately someone had stored ripe camembert in the clothing cupboard the night before and it was unusable. Despite attention from a member of staff, the TV which was programmed to receive German, English and French programmes could only receive French. The Gebrit WC control panel fell off the wall. We wondered if there was a staff dispute with management in the hotel. There were only 10 cars in the parking area and the hotel was operating well below capacity. Not once were we greeted with a Bonjour, a smile or friendly gesture from the numerous staff around. We were ignored. Dressed in black, they had a funeral air about them. After a glass of champagne we ordered a Kir (Cassis). The Cassis had a metallic flavour which indicated it was rancid and not fit for consumption. We were surprised that it had even been offered to us. The replacement glass was little better. (We have been drinking Kirs for 35 years and we know the product). The dinner was all style and disappointing content. Regretfully the central part of my chicken was uncooked. It was one stage away from raw. If you Google uncooked chicken you will see the word 'salmonella' featured. We spoke to M. Lallemont after the meal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Potential to be a fantastic hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2014
The hotel is lovely from the outset besides the scaffolding, refurbishment work and malfunctioning air conditioning system which states a temperature of 16 that is actually closer to 24...whilst having the window open at the same time. (I wouldn't usually have a problem, but when this was mentioned to the staff they simply said...'ok'.) Needless to say, the trip was enjoyable despite the downfalls and I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a stay in Reims, just don't expect a cheap meal...or one that is offered without expectation. You can have a very good meal at this restaurant-come-hotel, but expect to be treated as unworthy until you prove otherwise. Regardless of the day you may have had, you are immediately expected to indulge in pre-dinner drinks and then a full tasting menu, of which there are a minimum of five courses, and to select a wine from the extensive menu which costs somewhere between the €400 and €7000 mark...and no, that is not a mistake, it is supposed to read €7000. It would have been nice to be able to don my critical view from a journalists perspective, but I didn't feel it fair considering they are still in the process of refurbishment. Anyway, I would still say that they have a long way to go before the full product is achieved, but the have a lot of positives to consider too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from northants

one night at L'Assiette

Posted Sep 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Wonderful hotel situated in beautiful grounds. Staff all extremely helpful and attentive. Lovely bedroom, great size and comfort. We dinned in the restaurant, quite amazing service, lovely room and very comfortable but the food is very expensive, enjoyable but perhaps not quite worth the money. 3 small pieces of cheese, with a choice of 3 different chutney's nearly £25 ! Wine list extensive but be careful some wines are priced in the thousands of pounds. Breakfast was not fantastic and have had better breakfast buffets at cheaper hotels particularly in some Spanish 5* establishments. Lovely experience but you certainly pay for it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tracy from England

nice hotel but very expensive

Posted Aug 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel but very expensive for dinner snd drinks more than the room cost would have been nice for another restraunt that was cheaper to eat in .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Super stylish hotel and restaurant

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: Super stylish, chic, modern french, tasteful, haute cuisine, fantastic food, inventive, elegant, relaxed, attentive.
Cons: Nothing could be improved about the food.
Location: We were passing through: the hotel is in the outskirts of Reims, so within striking distance of the city or other detonations.
On the way back to UK, we stopped off for an haute cuisine culinary experience with chef Lallement. We were not disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by FREDDY from LONDON

Lovely Hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2013
Pros: Very Modern stylish decor. Delightful "confitures" for breakfast!
Cons: Shower not designed to avoid water escaping onto bathroom floor - Quick showers only! One broken lamp. Nothing else - Still a lovely place
Location: Easy to access from Autoroute.
Delightful hotel just ten minutes from centre of Reims.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Gmhredhill from Aberdeen

Fabulous experience

Posted Jun 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel was absolutely first class. We had the degustation menu and it was simply superb. We had the champagne pairing and we reckon its one of the best dining experiences we've had. The room was lovely and spacious - only thing is the typical tiny french toilet tucked away with no wash hand basin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ed

Excellent!

Posted Sep 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
Wonderful hotel with fabulous gourmet restaurant which is a must when staying. Superb cuisine with attentive, knowledgable staff - don't miss it when visiting Reims!