Ratings based on 887 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Penn Valley, CA

Not what I expected...

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: It has a Peet's coffee in it.
Cons: Cleanliness/Smell
Location: Separate from the rest of Reno - only thing nearby is Cabela's
Make sure that you request a "non-smoking" room during checkout - otherwise you will be placed on the smoking floor where the smell will permanently set into your clothing. I tried to open the window to let the stank out but it was screwed shut so I wouldn't jump out. The carpet in the hallways was stained. Overall, I felt really dirty staying here. I wouldn't recommend this room to anyone unless you are super broke.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auburn,CA

SMOKE SMOKE SMOKE

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: STAFF GOOD..NOTHING ELSE
Cons: NO SMOKING..REMODEL
Location: BY RENO..PLENTY
SMOKE IS TERRIBLE WE ALL FELT LOUSY..Staff fine..location good..hotel OLD
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FORTUNA

OVER ALL BAD

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: FOOD
Cons: GET RID OF SOUTH TOWER
Location: RENO
OUR CHECK IN TIME WAS 4:00PM WE DROVE 400 MIL. GOT THERE AT 2:PM ROOMS NOT READY. THEY SAID THE THEY WILL GRIVE US 2 FLOOR HALF WAY DOWN I SAID THAT WOULD BE FINE, TO CHECK BACK INONE HOUR AND A HALF 3:30PM OK. WE PLAYED THE SLOTS AND CAME BACK AT 3:30 THEY SAID THE ROOM WAS RENTED OUT THE ONE THEY HAD SAVED FOR US. THAY SAID THAT WE WAS TO GET A ROOM AFTER 4:00PM SO BE WAIT OR TURN. I AM HANDYCAP WE GOT A ROOM ON THIRD FLOOR NEXT TO THE LAST ROOM DOWN A VERY LONG HALL. THE ROOM WAS10 FEET WIDE YOU SEAT ON THE TOI.I COULD NOT CLOSE THE DOOR. I WAS IN THE SOUTH TOWER. SHOWER HEAD DIDNOT WORK VERY GOOD BATHTUB DIDNOT DRAIN VERY GOOD HANDY MAN WOULD NOT CHANGE SHOWER HEAD SAID AFTER WE WE ARE UNTIL GOINE. I COULD GO ON BUT THAT IT.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Not quite together

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Convenient distance to location. Little else. Slow service, and totally inadequate for the number of guests.
Cons: get another cart to carry luggage - TWO for a hotel!!! Have rooms ready at promised check-in time. Give a comp or something if it delayed.
Trouble started when we arrived about 20 minutes before check-in. We were told our room would be ready in about 30 minutes. Came back in 30, and were told the room was still not ready (making our check in time later than posted). Came back in another hour, and after having the desk clerk trying to find us another room (our's was STILL not ready), we were assigned a room. Valet helped bring our things upstairs on a cart after an additional 20 minute wait for him. Got to the room, and it was ALREADY occupied!!! We had to go all the way back down to the front desk, and after another 20 minutes the FINALLY found us a room. We had booked nearly a month in advance, and didn't get to check in until nearly 6:00 in the evening. Totally inexcuseable, no apologies were offered, nothing, they didn't really seem to even care about it. Worst check-in experience we have ever had. I would be hard pressed to stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Wi fi did not work. Difficult to change TV channels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Check in took forever, only 2 people at front desk. When we returned to our room staff had taken out all our towels without replacing them, it took hours to get towels replaced.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from springville, ca.

Mis represented in pictures. Carpet filthy.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Good bed pillows
Cons: Carpets need to be cleaned . Room needed to be painted. Front door of room had a hole .
Location: Location was good
The room was rundown . We had 4 people , they only left towels for 2 . In room coffee , not stocked . Only decaf available and only for 2 people . Paid an extra 20 for 2 guests in room. Will never book this hotel again .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boise, Idaho

Get what you pay for.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: The price was reasonable. The casino was fair.
Cons: Place needs updated. Stains on rugs. Not that clean. Under staffed and needs training.
Location: About 10 minutes from town. Need to travel to see things, but not a long drive to Tahoe. Lots of sight seeing.
Rooms were small and outdated. We stayed four nights. Each night when we got back to the hotel our rooms were not cleaned up and no towels were to be found. We talked to other guest and they had the same problem. The food situation was not any better. The waiting in line to eat was long. The waiting for food was longer. The staff was not friendly. The food was fair.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place with fun events

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, fun events
Cons: AC units in older rooms do not work too well.
We were there for the BBQ competition and the staff there was super friendly. They made it a fun event and it was great that they did so much for VIP members, who were all treated to some great food and drinks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Boomtown Guest, Hotel Management
Dear Boomtown Guest, Thank you for reaching out to us here at Boomtown Casino Hotel. We always appreciate and value what our guests have to say. We pride ourselves on our guest service and are always looking for way to improve. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Patty Elam Executive Administrator for Rob Medeiros CEO/General Manager Boomtown Casino Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Comfort & Relaxing

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Very comfortable room & helpful staff. The bed was soft & after a LONG day driving it was a great place to relax. My only complaint was with the food when we went to eat at the casino cafe, very unorganized & not helpful. They screwed up our order & then when we ordered an apple juice for our child they charged us but didn't give it to us. When we went back they told us they didn't know how to use the machine that dispensed the apple juice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Boomtown Guest, Hotel Management
Dear Suzi, Thank you for reaching out to us here at Boomtown Casino Hotel. We always appreciate and value what our guests have to say. We pride ourselves on our guest service and are always looking for way to improve. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Patty Elam Executive Administrator for Rob Medeiros CEO/General Manager Boomtown Casino Hotel