Ratings based on 4,737 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Clara,Ca.

Dirty,old hotel in the midst of town.

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: The ambiance and smell.
Location: None in particular.
Very unfortunate experience,but had no choice.Area hotels were fully booked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Bad Stay

Posted Sep 29, 2014
The ac didn't work in our room. We were sweating all night. They finally offered to send a technician at 3 am. Like we were really going to get dressed and wait for it to be fixed. Also, I asked for a roll in bed to be put next to our king bed. They tried to tell me yes, but it would be a $10 fee. If that's the case, I would have just asked for 2 double beds upon check in for the same price. Really...then it took them over an hour to bring it up. I told them I would just come get it if it takes any longer, I was waiting to go to bed but couldn't because I was waiting on the stupid roll in bed they were now charging me for,. Horrible stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San jose

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Room door open, when we arrived. Crumbs on all surfaces...Room was right by elevator. Very noisy...ran out of toliet paper. When housekeeping brought us, some, he expected a tip, huh!?!? Very run down hotel...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Andover, Hampshire, England.

Mr & Mrs R Langley. Our annual visit to the Sands.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: The check in staff are friendly and quick. Parking available. Pleasant ambiance. Efficient and friendly girls serving the drinks. Good security staff.
Cons: One lift near the check in desk was not working and the garage lift requires some attention.
Location: Take a side trip to GENOA, VIRGINIA CITY, and DAYTON. Visit the Air Show at STEAD. Drive on the scenic 395.
My wife and I were very pleased to have a suite on floor 11. As usual the Sands was friendly and welcoming. There is always parking available and the beds are clean and comfortable, this is important after a long flight from England. There is a good variety of places to eat within this casino, it is not necessary to eat out. The staff are helpful and are always available. The swimming pool is an excellent feature and is unusual in that it's possible to spend a few hours sitting in the sun with a drink and a good book. We rate the Sands very highly and look forward to staying with you every year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Check in and room were great. Had quick friendly service. Va'a was great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from eureka ca

Nasty

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Probably the worst hotel I have stayed in. I went there with low expectations due to the other ratings. I should have listened to them the room didn't have soap or shampoo and carpets looked like there was a fresh murder on the. TV was super fuzzy. This place is out dated
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Hotel not close to other casino not with walking distance. Need to have wheel-chairs for handicap. Bed's was real hard
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auburn, Ca

Not happy with Reno

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Needs updating to improve comfort as well as needs to be clean to improve comfort and satisfaction.
The room was gross & dirty, including urine in the toilet. Beds were uncomfortable, t.v.'s were very old and unclear. Also it did not smell good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Sebastopol, CA

Good for the $$

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Pricen and the room was huge
Cons: Bed was not "perfect" but so what?
Location: Reno civic addresses and Virginia St. happenings.
This is a dwntwn Reno Casino... with all the low end Casino happenings and crowd Its about as inexpensive as possible. If price is important, this works. This was my 2nd stay and it is just fine for me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

we went to Reno for the Air Races

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Everything actually, it was small, clean, good amenities, close enough to downtown yet quiet when the day was over. The room was lovely
Cons: nothing that I can think of
Location: well, we just went to the air Races, nothing else this trip
Staying at the Sands was very pleasant, small, nice, good amenities and yet close enough to the bus for going out to the Air Races. The restaurants were very pleasant to eat in and it was just a nice break from reality by staying there in th evenings, after very busy days at the Air Races.