Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by william from redding ca

a stay in reno at the vagabond motel

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: It was convient for visiting my brother. also it was close food establishments.I think bigger towI
Cons: I think begger towels would have been nicer
Location: It was fine for my needs
The room was what I wanted as I was just there to visit my brother. He is in rehabe for surgery on his leg. I spent some time at the casinos.
Comment from
Jan 2, 2014
Hello, William. Thank you for the review. We take pride in our ability to make the guests happy. We look forward to seeing you again!! -Nathan Perry Front Desk Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dissapointing

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Not very clean. Nonsmoking room smelled of smoke. poorly lit and maintained. advertized price on expedia changed during booking by 50%. Because of late ckeck in time did not want to try to find another hotel. Did not feel safe or welcomed. Would not stay or recommend again.
Comment from
Jan 26, 2014
Hello guest... I apologize that your stay was not up to your standards. Please know that your comments have been taken in by management and we are working to DRASTICALLY improve them. Our only hope is that one day you may give us another chance to make things right... Sincerely- Nathan Perry Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Darren from Bay Area, CA

Overnight stay in standard room.

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: The microwave and small refridge in the room.
Cons: The lighting in the parking lot. It seemed way to dark which kind of made my family feel unsafe.
Location: Hotel is right between Peppermill and Atlantis.
My family and I stayed there overnight. Room seemed clean. There was a refridge and microwave which seemed to be a plus.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Challenges that can be improved

Posted Feb 19, 2014
There's no place to set anything in the bathroom. Barely room to set a cup for water, no place for your toothbrush or paste or anything else. There's no towel rack of any kind. Towels were hanging in the shower on the bars for handicapped people. I finally took an extra wash cloth and dried out wash bowl so I could put them there. There was no outlet near the coffee maker. I moved it to the top of the refrigerator. Also, the coffee maker wasn't clean. I was only making hot water for tea and I had to run several pots of water through it to get some that wasn't completely loading with brown floaters. Even the last pot still had a few in it. The bed room was very comfortable. I appreciated that we couldn't hear the neighbors, therefore I presumed they couldn't hear us. Parking was a problem. They need to assign the spaces to the rooms. I don't travel very much, but I would stay in a Vagabond again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to where we needed to be for meetings.

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Convenient to our meeting spot.
Cons: The bathtub is very slippery. The rooms could use some serious refurbishing.
The room seemed clean, but the heating was not very good until I jacked it up to 79 degrees, which I would normally never do. The linens were clean, but had some tears. After the first night (we were there two nights) they changed the key cards so we had to go to the office to get new ones. Some staff members were going by when we were struggling with that and they let us in and got new key cards for us. Our friends had to go to the office in the wind and rain to get theirs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's ok

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Everyone was friendly, everything was as clean as it could be, but it was all so old. The bed was highly uncomfortable- too firm, but there were plenty of blankets. Super small tv. Good heavy curtains so the light didn't wake you up. Ok continental breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie from california

Good price close to downtown.

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Price and location.
I needed an inexpensive hotel on very short notice--and a late arrival to boot. They had my room held and ready when I finely rolled in late.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brenda from Elko, NV

Pleasant, accommodating staff!

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Pros: Conveniently located, allowed our 3 dogs, pleasant staff.
Cons: Heating
Location: Near the Atlantis, Peppermill, minutes from Downtown Reno, shopping, dining.
We, including our four-legged babies stayed at Vagabond while in town for a follow up from a recent surgery. Overall it was a good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Saul from Hayward

Everything was great.

Posted Nov 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
I have stayed there several times.