Ratings based on 261 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: The hotel was very convenient to the Peppermill Casino where we went for a show.
Cons: The bathroom needs a little maintenance to repair tears in the shower curtain.
Location: Very easy access to the Peppermill Casino but cheaper and quieter.
This was a very convenient, cheaper hotel in Reno. Location was great and room rates were good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2015 by Nathan Perry, Hotel Management
Hello, Guest... Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel... I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Please if you come back through town, feel free to stay with us again!!! Thank you, Nathan Perry Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bay area

Last minute Reservation

Posted May 17, 2015
Easy on and off from the freeway Easy to find. Walking distance from the conference that I attended at Peppermill Hotel. I just need a clean none smoker room to sleeps and showers. If you want to impress your GF stay some place else and pay the big bucks. I spent my money in a nice dinner. Cable TV need to updates
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2015 by Nathan Perry, Hotel Management
Hello, Guest... Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy to see that you had a satisfactory stay with us. I have noted your comments, and the maintenance staff and I are going to work on them ASAP. Thank you again, Nathan Perry Front Desk Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

NO Follow through with Requests

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Proximity to Convention Center
Cons: Breakfast - provide knives, fruit, fresh milk for coffee and tea and cereal.
When I booked with Expedia I requested a Refrigerator n microwave. Hotel staff told me maybe. Got a fridge the morning after we arrived but my husband had to help bring it into the room. No coffee maker or iron. Never got the microwave. TV old. Room and area around hotel run down. Breakfast very minimal.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2015 by Nathan Perry, Hotel Management
Hello, M &D.... Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to see that you had these issues with us. We are in the process of providing all rooms with those amenities, and I can assure I will speak to my maintenance staff regarding your husband having to help... Thank you again... Nathan Perry Front Desk Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Roseville

Furniture: Pretty outdated

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Not much. It was clean asided from the tub looked a bit rusty
Cons: Furniture/Fridge. Plugs everywhere to keep it running.
Location: Not the greatest of locations. Nothing near by except Casino about a mile away
More than i wanted to spend for what you get. Furniture is from the 70's. Including the TV. Phone system didnt work 2nd night so no wake up call avialble.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2015 by Nathan Perry, Hotel Management
Hello Bernie... Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We have taken note of your comments and will do our best to improve upon those things for future guests... We hope to see you again at the Vagabond Inn... Thank you, Nathan Perry Front Desk Manager
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

junkie

Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel should be condemned and torn down.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2015 by Nathan Perry, Hotel Management
Hello, Traveler. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We will do everything we can to improve our property so that any future guests have a better experience at our hotel. Again I apologize, but thank you for giving us a chance... -Nathan Perry Front Desk Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2015 by Nathan Perry, Hotel Management
Hello, Guest.... Thank you for rating our hotel, We hope to see you again! -Nathan Perry Front Desk Manager
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Dirty

Posted Apr 22, 2015 on Hotels
The room was dirty and there were dead bugs in the tub. Very loud hotel guests walking the hallway at night, fighting, etc
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2015 by Nathan Perry, Hotel Management
Hello, Guest.... Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience with us. I have taken note of your complaints and will do what I can to improve upon and fix those problems... Thank you you for your business, but again I do apologize... -Nathan Perry Front Desk Manager
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Linda from Citrus Heights

Weekend trip

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
Sheets on bed were ripped, no hair dryer, iron, ironing board and very poor lighting
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2015 by Nathan Perry, Hotel Management
Hello, Linda... Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to see that you did not have a great stay at our hotel. We have taken note of your comments and our doing our very best to fix those problems. We hope that one day you will come see for yourself that we are constantly striving to improve... Thank you again, -Nathan Perry Front Desk Manager
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Won't be back................

Posted Apr 1, 2015 on Hotels
very poor continental presentation, very cheap! Coffee in a styrofoam cup, no half and half, powdered milk, not much selection. Hookers very present in the near vacinity, loud noices at night, and poor wifi. No customer service..........
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2015 by Nathan Perry, Hotel Management
Hello, Traveler. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have taken in your complaints and our staff and I will do everything we can to improve upon them... Thank you again, -Nathan Perry Front Desk Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

A little worn but clean

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Cons: no working ice machines but front desk gave out bags of ice on request.
5 min walk to Atlantis or Peppermill casinos - bus stops every 10 min to downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2015 by Nathan Perry, Hotel Management
Hello, Guest. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy to see that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are working with our maintenance staff to improve the grounds as much as we can. Thank you, and we hope to see you again at the Vagabond Inn! -Nathan Perry Front Desk Manager