Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kathleen from North London

Perfect family suites close to Rethymnon old town

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: The location which is only a short walk from the main town. The friendly and helpful staff. The great selection for breakfast buffet.
Cons: The only niggle was having to wait for the waiters to take drink orders at breakfast, rather than being able to help yourself.
Location: The hotel is located across the road from the seafront and a 10-15 minute walk from the old town and harbour which is beautiful.
We arrived in the dark, late at night, so had no idea of the surrounding area. The receptionist was extremely friendly and helpful, as were all of the staff throughout our stay. We had a 2 bedroom suite which was extremely spacious and gave us some respite from our children! The small kitchen area was well equipped, apart from lacking a microwave, although we ate all our meals out in the end. On waking the next morning we discovered the stunning sea views from all the rooms and the huge balcony. The breakfast buffet was one of the best we have had in a hotel. We were able to use the indoor pool situated in the spa area and there seemed to be no restrictions on children using it too, which was great as the outdoor pool was a little chilly this early in the season. Overall we had a very comfortable and relaxing stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mr. M. from Bruxelles

Fantastic place

Posted Oct 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
We went there in October for a short week, and we enjoyed every minute. The suites are very spacious and comfortable, and the bed was so good that we were asking for the model and are seriously considering to get the same matrass at home. Breakfast is phenomenal as well. You can also get some food in the evening or snacks during the day, but for proper Greek food I suggest to take a short walk into town and enjoy one of the many restaurants there. Wellness and pool area is also flawless. In case we are back in the area we would for sure go to Macaris again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Margaret from UK

Beautiful hotel in Rethymnon

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: Everything was excellent - staff, suites, breakfast and spa. Very extensive Local information was given with a personal appointment on arrival .
Cons: Possibly signage for the hotel from the road and better directions when driving to it.
Location: The hotel is a relatively short walk by a busy road to the centre which has lots of restaurants etc. The nearby beach is not attractive!
We spent a very relaxing week here. Our suite was extremely well appointed and comfortable - it made leaving it a challenge! All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The spa is beautiful with a number of treatments available at extra cost. We did not use the pool but although not large it looked good. The included breakfast was excellent - a very wide choice of dishes available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stuart from London, UK

Great stay in great town

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Pros: Breakfast was great. Big selection. Large balconies with comfy seats. location is good Staff are extremely helpful and professional.
Cons: Perhaps the top floor rooms give better views of the town.
Location: Brilliant. A short walk out of the old town.
The suites are spacious with large balconies. The service from staff at reception, cleaning and in the restaurant at breakfast was excellent. Location is about ten minute walk from the town, five minutes from bus station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by lisa from London

great place!

Posted Apr 13, 2013
amazing place! we were there with 4 teenagers and had a great trip. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London, United Kingdom

Excellent, friendly hotel with amazing service - highly recommended!

Posted Aug 22, 2011
The hotel and the staff all surpassed our expectations. From the moment we arrived we were treated extremely well, the hotel staff were always friendly and willing to help in any way they could. The room we had was very newly furnished and extremely clean and modern. The bed was very comfortable and having our own spacious jacuzzi and balcony was great. The swimming pool was very well maintained and the reception / restaurant / bar staff were very friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. I work for one of the world's largest conference companies and have stayed in many hotels in North America and Europe on business. This compares very favourably to the places I've stayed. I was very impressed with the Macaris and especially with the staff and cleanliness of the facilities. My wife and I would have no hesitation in staying here again and I recommend it to anyone visiting Rethymnon and Crete - a superb holiday which we'll always remember.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Best time ever

Posted Aug 21, 2011
It was a last minute reservations as I have had some spare time which I wanted to spend with my family in Greece. Macaris it's absolutely fantastic. Clean, spacious, very comfortable with extremely helpful and friendly staff. I can't wait to go back. Unfortunately SPA is not open yet, but they do have some beauty treatment available on request.(manicure, massage etc...) Every member of staff is able to communicate in english, restaurant need to improve a bit (open only for breakfast) but our stay was amazing, I had really enjoed it...
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Vicenza, Italy

Very Impressed!

Posted Aug 1, 2011
Loved the hotel! Super accommodations, comfortable king-size bed, spacious bedroom and living room, large well-furnished balcony with a great view of the sea, good breakfast with lots of choices including several different kinds of eggs, breads, cereal, juice and fresh fruit, convenient kitchen in our suite with large refrigerator, well-functioning air conditioner and TV. Short walk to some very good seaside restaurants. Great service from the staff who went out-of-their way to assist us with lost luggage, find a doctor, arrange for tours, etc. I highly recommend this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2011 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Not impressed

Posted Aug 23, 2006
The hotel looked nice on the outside, however the staff was generally not accomidating. No room service, or staff to take bags to the rooms. Also the hotel is not on the beach, you have to take a cab across the street and down the block.