Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Perhaps not worthy of "Excellent" reviews.

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Location in Platanias.
Cons: Bedding. Wi-fi. Cleaning standards/consistency.
Booked this hotel as a couple for a two week stay end Sept 2014. Decision was based upon apparent value for money, distance from nearest beach, and small kitchenette in room - but primarily opted for this particular accommodation due the very positive reviews from the majority of previous travellers. Overall, there is nothing exceptionally wrong with this hotel - indeed, it's location in Platanias (and closeness to the beach) is a positive. However, there were a few "niggles' that are probably worthy of note... Firstly, the bedding (two single beds pushed together - absolutely fine). No complaints about the cleanliness of it, but remain confused as to the inconsistency of how it was made up - sometimes it was with two separate bottom sheets and two top sheets, sometimes one double bottom sheet and two top sheets, sometimes just a pile of freshly laundered sheets on the beds for us to make up ourselves. Regardless of this though, the sheets all appear to be far too small for the beds - resulting in an uncomfortable sleep, as they untuck very easily. Either way, my daily task was to remake the beds after the maids' attempts. Secondly, our booking confirmation from Expedia shows that we had booked a "Room Studio, includes free wireless internet". Unfortunately, the wi-fi was only available in public areas, or in rooms very close to reception/pool. We had no wi-fi in our room. Thirdly, no cleaning equipment was included in the kitchenette. No more space to write...!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Coventry

A good base for Northwest Crete

Posted Sep 20, 2014
The hotel was very friendly, a good cocktail bar and great pool nicely placed for the national road and local beach and restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good sized rooms

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall quite satisfied
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Great location & friendly staff!

Posted Jun 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room was perfect with lots of cupboards/drawers to put things in. Only negatives were the drawers were really stiff and difficult to open and the bath/bathroom is very tiny and uncomfortable. You have to hold the hose to shower yourself which again isn't ideal esp in a pokey bathroom!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Firasfrom Cyprus

All was Great

Posted Jun 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Was nice and will go again to the same hotel soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by older singlefrom Oxfordshire, UK

Great value for money

Posted May 27, 2012
Certainly achieves it's aim of affordable luxury; it delivers a lot for the space available and works hard to maintain it. it's roadside position won't suit everyone but it makes it very convenient with Tavernas, supermarket, bakery and bus stop all close by. My second year because I've found the staff extremely helpful to making the most of your holiday.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel with clear signs of fatigue

Posted Jun 16, 2011 on Hotels.com
This hotel has definitely known better days. Our room was not clean and had a bad smell. The shower was tiny and you could not even decently stand in it, and was clearly not cleaned in some time.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Peterfrom London

Newly refurbished, great staff - nice hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2009
We've just spent a week at the Axos and enjoyed it very much. It's very close to the beach and Planatias is a quiet resort which suited us down to the ground. The hotel has just refurbished all the rooms and it was a very comfortable stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool was immaculate and there were always plenty of sunbeds.